The Slice

image

Jeremiah 29:11  “For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.”

The slice revealed that the nose bump was in fact basal cell carcinoma as the doc suspected.  The plan was to go in and remove the tumor during day surgery the next day.  The doc told me the type of flap he would create would depend on how deep he had to go to remove the tumor.  He said I would be in for several surgeries and take it one at a time.

 

image

Ecclesiastes 1:9  What has been will be again, what has been done will be done again; there is nothing new under the sun.

A Few Facts

One in five will get some form of skin cancer in the course of a lifetime.  Each year there are more skin cancer cases than breast cancer, prostate cancer, lung cancer and colon cancer combined.  People who have tanned inside (tanning beds) have a 69% higher risk of getting basal cell carcinoma before the age of 40.

These and many more facts and statistics blew my mind.  It made me think about all the times I’m getting my hair cut and there’s a steady stream of people coming into the shop to use the tanning bed.  Although I never used a tanning bed the risk is still there and probably most people don’t even think about it.

It is interesting how many cases you hear about after getting your own diagnosis of others that have known someone that also have had skin cancer.  One friend told me about someone that had a bump on the forehead and another that had one on the cheek.  Early detection of any changes should not be ignored.  And, as someone that neglected the nose bump, I would urge you to have the gentle kindness of my eye guy and ask the person that has a new or unusual skin bump if they have had it checked out.

image

Psalm 113:3  From the rising of the sun to the place where it sets, the name of the Lord is to be praised.

The teacher in me sometimes shows up when I least expect it and when I thought my teaching days were over.  Every day I learn something new about basal cell carcinoma and recently came across this Body Mole Map.  I thought it might help someone.

 

COPYRIGHT

© Jeanne Bugbee and The Lord Supplies, The Nose Bump Blog, 2017 to date.  Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this site’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited.  Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Jeanne Bugbee, The Lord Supplies and The Nose Bump Blog.  The Nose Bump blog with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Published by

TheNoseBump

This blog is designed to help others that may be going through the same 'nose bump' or basal cell carcinoma, that I am going through and provide inspiration along the way.

Leave a comment