And Then There Was Light

29371BCD-6E90-4EE0-9B78-CCC4EF354777

Genesis 1:2  Now the earth was formless and empty, darkness was over the surface of the deep, and the Spirit of God was hovering over the [potato fields] waters.

My sunsets are some of the most spectacular ones I’ve ever seen.  I try to get pictures of both the sunrises and sunsets and like the rest of the world, share the beauty on FB.  I took this and went inside to see what was on television.

Yes, the game.  As I was watching the Red Sox, the power went out.  It seemed a little different than when I have blown a fuse or when the power goes off in a storm.  I checked the fuses all they seemed fine.

I called the power company and got a recording listing about four outages in the state, but none in my area.  I pressed “1” for English and waited on the line to talk to a representative.

I went to bed not knowing if the Red Sox won or lost.  I reflected, as I usually do in power outages, on how my grandparents managed without this modern luxury.  In the morning I called an electrician friend and he came to look the situation over.  In about two-minutes, he said, “there’s no power coming into the house.”  I did a power prayer that it was nothing major.  He called the power company, pressed “1” for English and told them the problem.  They sent a truck and two guys out.

DC7F4860-2A87-4681-ACB4-288751CF3F43

Psalm 4:3  Look at this:  look  Who got picked by God!  He listens the split second I call to him.  MSG

The two guys looked at my maple trees and gave me the news that they might have to cut one of the trees down because the wires may be chafed from the branches.  I did a power prayer over my maples.

Next, they opened the meter box, that would have sent me to jail if I had opened it, and one guy said I might need to update my antique box.  I did another power prayer over my meter box.

One guy stood back; looked at the maple tree, turned around and looked the house over top to bottom, side to side; and said, “we might need to change the entrance.”  I didn’t know exactly what he meant, but I was pretty sure it was more complicated and more expensive.  I did a power prayer over the entrance.

Then they disconnected the wires and pulled them out of my maple and found them to have no chafing!!  The Lord healed my wires!!

C6FD8B49-69DE-4AF1-BC06-4CEB41D63DAF

The other guy, still up in the bucket, did what seemed to me to just look at the cylinder on the pole, and said, ‘the transformer is shot.’  They called the main office and about 45-minutes later another power company guy arrived in a pickup with a new shiny transformer in the truck bed.

75EE6A44-793A-414E-8573-46355340FDF5

Genesis 1:3-5  And God said, “Let there be light,” and there was light.  God saw that the light was good, and he separated the light from the darkness.  God called the light “day,” and the darkness he called “night.”  And there was evening, and there was morning—the first day.

A little while later I had power back.  The Lord provided me with an electrician, hot water, refrigeration, my sewing machine and iron, TV and VCR, the radio and internet, a clock and then … there was light!!  He provided it all through a shiny transformer and I didn’t even loose a branch on my maple tree!!  What an awesome God we serve!!

 

COPYRIGHT

© Jeanne Bugbee and The Lord Supplies, The Nose Bump Blog, 2017 to date.  Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this site’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited.  Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Jeanne Bugbee, The Lord Supplies and The Nose Bump Blog.  The Nose Bump blog with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

 

 

 

Published by

TheNoseBump

This blog is designed to help others that may be going through the same 'nose bump' or basal cell carcinoma, that I am going through and provide inspiration along the way.

Leave a comment