The Prayers

image

Mark 10:16  And he took the children in his arms, placed hands on them and blessed them.

Growing up I had very precious neighbors that were like family to me.  They were invited to all the family events, holiday meals and get togethers.  Often when they would pray for someone they would say, ‘I’m laying hands on so and so for complete healing.’  I’m not so sure I understood what that meant when I was eight or ten.  As the years have passed, I find myself ‘laying hands’ on all my friends and family when I pray for them, knowing now that there is no distance in prayer.

Another dear cousin called me once or twice a week to tell me she was praying for me.  We would talk and I would update her on the latest steps in the procedure.  She would say she wished she could do more, but ‘at least I can pray for you.’  I would reply, “your prayers are enough.”

image

Psalm 62:2  Truly He is my Rock and my salvation; He is my fortress, I will never be shaken.

The Lord sent me a man to do some work at the house.  I rarely saw him as I was at work and he would be gone by the time I got home.  He had been working on the job a couple weeks or so and the Lord spoke to me in ‘that still small voice’ and said, ‘ask him if he will do this other small job you need done.’  I kind of argued with the Lord saying, ‘but that’s not what he’s here for.’  Well, the Lord doesn’t usually let it go that quickly, He kept prompting me to ask him.  So I did.  To my relief he said yes.  His gentle kindness was like the eye guy and it brought tears to my eyes, after all, he was busy with other clients but he made time for my extra job.

At different times while he was at the house working we had a chance to talk a little and early on we talked about church and people we both knew.  The whole time he was here we probably talked no more than an hour or two all total and I had added him and his family to my prayer list.  Later when I was in the middle of ‘The First Miracle’ the Lord again spoke to me and told me to ask him to pray for me.  Again I kind of argued with the Lord and said, ‘he doesn’t even know me,’ and, ‘I don’t know him.’  The Lord continued, ‘ask.’  The Lord still kept up so when I was asking my praying friends to pray for me, I asked him.  He too, was willing to pray for me and my needs.  It was then I realized the reason the Lord sent him to me wasn’t necessarily to do the work at the house, it was to be a praying friend.

image

Luke 4:40  At sunset, the people brought to Jesus all who had various kinds of sickness, and laying His hands on each one, He healed them.

Friends of mine that I had worked with years prior had moved and were back in the area for a visit.  We made plans to meet for lunch.

image

James 5:14  Is anyone among you sick?  Let them call the elders of the church to pray over them and anoint them with oil in the name of the Lord.

Another friend that I worked with years ago has been praying for me and my needs for years.  We share a birthday and over the years and moves, we have kept in touch through birthday cards, letters and emails.  About the time I was finding out about the nose bump, she too found out she might need open heart surgery.  Quite the birthday presents for each of us this year, both our surgeries were scheduled a day or two after our birthdays.  We decided not to send each other birthday cards this year, just do extra healing prayers for the other.

image

Deuteronomy 32:30  How could one person chase a thousand of them, and two people put ten thousand to flight, unless their Rock had sold them, unless the Lord had given them up?

My class was having a BIG reunion this summer.  At the time I had all these appointments so I didn’t see many of my classmates.  Later when I posted the blog, many of my childhood friends sent prayers and well wishes.  Many of them lived across the country but I felt their prayers as if they were right here.

image

Proverbs 18:24  There are “friends” who destroy each other, but a real friend sticks closer than a brother.

For something a little different, I asked my precious niece and nephews to make a selfie video for when I go ‘under the knife.’  Suddenly they were camera shy.  They are thinking about it.

image

Ephesians 1:3  How we praise God, the Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, who has blessed us with every spiritual blessing in the heavenly realms because we belong to Christ.

In my first teaching position two guys came into my Home Economics room while I was putting up a bulletin board and welcomed me.  We talked for a while and they invited me to join their ‘singles club.’  It seems there were six or eight single teachers in the district and they would get together and go out to eat every Friday night.  Over the years I have remained friends with both of them, however one lives nearby and we find ourselves getting together two or three times a month.

We sit on the porch reminiscing, laughing and going out to eat like old times.  His prayers for me were on-going.  After the surgery I went for a visit and he said, “come in my masked friend.”  Laughing, I replied, “Batman started his career wearing a mask.”

image

About three weeks after the surgery, it’s healing well.

image

Isaiah 26:4 Trust in the Lord always, for the Lord God is the eternal Rock.

 

COPYRIGHT

© Jeanne Bugbee and The Lord Supplies, The Nose Bump Blog, 2017 to date.  Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this site’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited.  Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Jeanne Bugbee, The Lord Supplies and The Nose Bump Blog.  The Nose Bump blog with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Published by

TheNoseBump

This blog is designed to help others that may be going through the same 'nose bump' or basal cell carcinoma, that I am going through and provide inspiration along the way.

Leave a comment