The Job Search

image

Psalm 90:17  May the favor of the Lord our God rest on us; establish the work of our hands for us – yes, establish the work of our hands.

The job search began the same day the devil asked me to leave my job.  I’ve worked all my life and saw no reason to get discouraged.  On Friday, one-week after the surgery, I decided to go to the CareerCenter for job leads and postings.  The thought never occurred to me to stop job hunting, so stopping at the CareerCenter seemed normal.

imageFirst Impressions at the Job Interview?

Teaching Home Economics was always about teaching life skills to my students and therefore it was preparing them for the world of work.  After the program and budget cuts, most of my subsequent jobs included some form of teaching either through workshops, presentations or summer camp projects.  In addition many times the topics I was to present on was, “Job Readiness.”

In preparing my curriculum for my Job Readiness workshops, I had several lessons including, Dressing for Success, Getting Along with Co-Workers, Networking, Resume Writing, Cover Letters and The Interview to list a few.  So for over twenty-five-years while I prepared others for interviews, I didn’t train many employers on what to expect if an interviewee arrived for an interview with bandages after surgery.

Would you hire someone that came to an interview in bandages?  Would you be so preoccupied with the bandages that you wouldn’t listen to the answers to know whether or not the person was a qualified candidate?  Whether we realize it or not, we judge people by their looks.  It is said that you have the first 7-seconds to make that first impression at the interview.

To me the bandages were no different than having your arm in a sling or arriving to the interview on crutches.  The job search needed to continue.  My resume was updated and my interview outfit was pressed.

Having worked all my life, I have been a loyal, honest, dependable and hard working employee in any job I have had.  In today’s job market and knowing the mindset of job seekers, my sense was that I would work twice as hard with bandages than most others would work without bandages.  Plus I had the Lord directing my steps to my next position.  No need to worry.

image

Matthew 7:7  Keep on asking, and you will be given what you ask for.  Keep on looking, and you will find.  Keep on knocking, and the door will be opened.

 

COPYRIGHT

© Jeanne Bugbee and The Lord Supplies, The Nose Bump Blog, 2017 to date.  Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this site’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited.  Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Jeanne Bugbee, The Lord Supplies and The Nose Bump Blog.  The Nose Bump blog with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

 

 

Published by

TheNoseBump

This blog is designed to help others that may be going through the same 'nose bump' or basal cell carcinoma, that I am going through and provide inspiration along the way.

Leave a comment