The Flap

image

“It All Started with a Thimble”

That’s what I started to use as a title a couple years ago when I was thinking to write a sewing blog.  In my sewing world a ‘flap’ is something like that piece of fabric that covers a zipper or pocket.  The idea for a nose flap is basically the same, in my mind at least.

During the consultation the doc said he would create a flap using skin from the cheek, forehead or maybe skin around the ear area.  He might also consider doing a skin graft and looked at the skin around my shoulder area.  At the time he thought the least possible option would be the forehead, but would decide once he was in there.

It ended up the doc made two flaps.  One on the cheek and one on the forehead.  The cheek flap will be the inner part of the nose and the forehead flap would become the outer part.

image

The doc didn’t have a thimble when he came to see me after the surgery, however he did have something like tweezers that he used to lift the flap and see how everything looked.  He was pleased.

A week later the doc changed the bandages and said everything looked great.  He would be on vacation the following week and would schedule the next surgery to be the week after his vacation to ‘split the flap.’  In my sewing mind, I could visualize what he was going to do.  Someone would call as it got closer with the exact date and time.

image

Ephesians 6:10 A final word: Be strong with the Lord’s mighty power.

The flap surgery was scheduled for a Tuesday at 6:00 a.m.  Because I wasn’t supposed to drive, especially after the surgery, my nephew drove me to the hospital and dropped me off.  The sign in and prep was pretty much like the first surgery except this time I remembered being wheeled into the operating room.  I asked the anesthesiologist how many people were on the team and he said five.

This second operation was about an hour and a half and in recovery about an hour.  The nurse said she would call for my ride so my sister-in-law came to get me around noon.  My energy wasn’t nearly as drained as it was during the first operation probably because it was much shorter.  I was to go see the doc in two-days for the bandage change.

image

Isaiah 40:31 But those who wait on the Lord will find new strength.  They will fly high on wings like eagles.  They will run and not grow weary.  They will walk and not faint.

The next Thursday was time again for the doc to change the bandages and see how it looked after the second surgery.  He was again pleased with how it looked and scheduled me to come back in a week.

The week passed quickly and the doc said I didn’t really need the bandages but would put them on for now.  A couple of the nurses came in to see how it looked and they too said it looked great.  I had ‘followers’ at the doc’s office and with the blog!!  The doc will be famous by the time he finishes with me.  Or infamous.

Curiosity got the best of me about the tanning bed statistics I had found on basal cell carcinoma.  During one of the bandage changing appointments, I asked the doc if he found a high percentage of skin cancer cases in the area are due to tanning beds or if there were more due to exposure to sun, farmer types like me that were out in the sun for many years.  He didn’t know the percentage, however he did say that around here most of his cases are from exposure to the sun.  He added, people don’t seem to think that they need sun screen or they think the sun here isn’t as strong as other parts of the country.  That doesn’t exempt you from skin cancer just because you are using a tanning bed, the risks are still present.

About three weeks after the first operation and a week after the second operation.

image

The next Thursday, I still think they only work on Thursdays as that’s when most appointments are scheduled, I had another appointment with the doc to change the bandages.  I mentioned that I was a little concerned about one section that seemed to be split open or wasn’t stitched quite right.  He looked it over and said it was healing nicely.  Then he said a few long technical medical terms about my concern which basically translated to, ‘it’s like a scab, it will fall off.’

Suddenly I noticed the doc had a little sense of humor!!

The doc took out his tweezers and pulled out some of the stitches.  The doc also said I didn’t need the bandages and that I could gently clean it with peroxide and put some ointment on it.  The next follow-up appointment would be in two-weeks so he could see how it ‘settles.’

image

The doc still doesn’t chitchat much but he answers my questions.  I asked him how long the entire process might be, a couple months, six, ten?  He said he likes to start with a year.  And again, I knew that my case was different than most since I had neglected the nose bump so I wasn’t surprised it would take longer.  Had I had him look at it when I first noticed it, he maybe could have just removed the nose bump in a less complicated procedure.

Now I suppose some people would be discouraged thinking that there would be more appointments and surgeries for a year or more.  I had given it to the Lord and He had it all planned out.  Even though I neglected the nose bump and didn’t have it looked at sooner, the Lord didn’t give up on me, He was still guiding my steps and bringing all the right people into my life.  From the eye guy to the unemployment staffers and the hospital financial team to the doc; the Lord was meeting all my needs.

Almost two-weeks after the flap surgery.

image

John 16:33  “I have told you these things, so that in me you have peace.  In this world you will have trouble.  But take heart!  I have overcome the world.”

image
Psalm 46:1 God is our refuge and strength, always ready to help in times of trouble.

 

COPYRIGHT

© Jeanne Bugbee and The Lord Supplies, The Nose Bump Blog, 2017 to date.  Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this site’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited.  Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Jeanne Bugbee, The Lord Supplies and The Nose Bump Blog.  The Nose Bump blog with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

 

Published by

TheNoseBump

This blog is designed to help others that may be going through the same 'nose bump' or basal cell carcinoma, that I am going through and provide inspiration along the way.

Leave a comment