V is for Vise Grips

758E348A-E4A9-4375-BBEE-D1163CFA188C

John 6:47  “Verily, verily, I say unto you, He that believeth on me hath everlasting life.

Vise grips have held my ironing board up for 35-years or more!!  They are probably my most ‘go-to’ tool.

One day recently I thought maybe I would swap out this ironing board, which was my grandmothers; so it’s practically brand new!!; with one I had when I had an apartment downstate.  I dug it out and because it had been leaning up on the wide end, the ironing board cover was ruined.  I took it off and also had to remove the next one.  And the next.

Actually I ended up removing all fourteen of them!!!  The oldest ones were nailed on with small upholstery nails that had rusted over the years.  The next few had the more modern string ties.  The newest three or four were probably ones I ironed threw.  And by newest, I mean 20-25 years old!!

E0EF0A38-0434-48E7-8F97-4AE2D256906A

When I took the last cover off, what a treasure!!  The original label for the ironing board, or I should say, ironing table.

400553F0-C6D1-4785-B50B-878E0A89033A

It gives directions on how to store it, on a certain hook so the bottom never touches the floor.  The clear, lacquered wood top is waterproof and warp-proof.

3DF55023-459A-436D-9494-C0F3C8DA68C8

Also, how the legs work AUTOMATICALLY by setting up as you set it down.  The legs are one piece without several latches for different heights.

7FAF44C0-2082-48DB-8CD5-775E6DD0BA17

Because of this type of leg, it says the ironing table won’t wobble or slide.

The legs are securely riveted and welded and will last a LIFETIME!!

6A984B86-7240-4654-BE8E-33BF0E71DC7F

My favorite feature on this ironing table was always the iron holder and hoop for the cord to feed through so it wouldn’t get tangled up or be in the way.

8EA13481-7EFF-475A-9BEB-2A3E64325271

Instead of swapping out my ironing boards, I decided to protect the original label by covering the ironing table with a clear plastic table cloth.  I didn’t get the plastic pulled quite enough and every time I tried it smooth it out, it looked a little worse, so I left it, saying to myself, “that’s good enough George!”

Curiosity got the better of me and I looked up my vintage ironing table on eBay.  There were about four that looked similar, they ranged from $80.00 – $120.00.  The $120.00 one was the closest to mine and the only one that you could see it had a label, but it couldn’t be read like my new find.

The ironing table was made for the Sears Roebuck and Co.

COPYRIGHT

© Jeanne Bugbee and The Lord Supplies, The Nose Bump Blog, 2017 to date.  Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this site’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited.  Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Jeanne Bugbee, The Lord Supplies and The Nose Bump Blog.  The Nose Bump blog with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Published by

TheNoseBump

This blog is designed to help others that may be going through the same 'nose bump' or basal cell carcinoma, that I am going through and provide inspiration along the way.

Leave a comment