101 Blog Posts

E156D357-694F-46B7-B31A-63F14CB712E0

Isaiah 40:8  The grass withereth, the flower fadeth: but the word of our God shall stand for ever.

Recently someone new to the nose bump blog asked me how many pages I had posted.  I didn’t know.  I said, “forty, maybe fifty.”

Curiosity got the better of me.  I counted, and if I didn’t loose count or count a couple pages twice, I’d posted one hundred pages to the nose bump blog.  One hundred!!  I really didn’t think it was that many.
66489AD9-4EE1-4BB6-8E9C-47ECD4A99C5F

About the same time I was debating whether or not to blog about the nose bump, I kept getting a pop-up on FB from The Bangor Daily News asking, ‘do you have something to blog about?, are you a writer?, if so, we want to hear from you.’

The pop-up had a ‘click here’ button that took you to a ‘brief’ survey.  The first set of questions was contact information.  The next section was a few questions like, what have you written, education, are you able to write a thousand words per blog page, do you have a website, etc.’

I expected they would be doing a background check to see if I’d passed Mrs. Stevens English class so there wouldn’t be dangling participles dangling all over their newspaper.  Or run on sentences running through their sports section.  Also, a lot of alliteration all around articles and advertisements.  Mainly I thought they’d be checking on dangling participles because I think I was absent that day and don’t really remember much about them!!

C382C796-959E-4FBD-8D0D-BA571C31A8EA
The last section asked what the topic was that you were going to blog about and why you thought people would want to read it.  I explained I had this nose bump; that was basal cell carcinoma; and I thought the blog would educate, inspire and help others that might have a similar situation.

They also wanted to know how many years experience you had on the topic.  None … on basal cell carcinoma, but several years experience writing newsletters in pasts jobs.  The blog would be new and on going as each surgery happened.

Next, they asked you to list the first three (I think) titles and briefly tell what you would write about in each.  They wanted the blogger to commit to at least ten pages if I remember correctly.  I listed a couple topics I thought would be interesting, like the surgery, the flap and of course, the benefits of Bag Balm.  Since the procedure hadn’t started, I didn’t really know exactly what all the topics would be.

I hit submit.  Then headed to meet the doc and see if he’d take my case.

3BC2C99E-0A71-4AF5-AA58-A79E4717BC0C

Matthew 10:14  And whosoever shall not receive you, nor hear your words, when ye depart out of that house or city, shake off the dust of your feet.

A couple weeks later when I was getting ready for the first surgery, I received an email of rejection from The Bangor Daily News saying that they didn’t think the blog topic would have ample ideas to submit ten pages, or be interesting enough for their readers … and wished me well.

Granted, the nose bump blog took on different topics as the Lord healed me and later there were other things happening that I wrote about like jury selection and job hunting, however I think I could have provided ten blog pages that would have interested the BDN readers.

The BDN may not have been interested in the nose bump blog, however I’ve enjoyed writing it and I think it’s been educational and inspirational for my readers.  Thank you sooo much for your likes, comments and shares!!  I don’t know if I have enough ideas for another hundred pages, however when I get new ideas, I’ll probably blog about it!!

D546A8AB-9B6F-45C5-A1D6-86B26316E4E1

Psalm 128:2  You will enjoy the fruit of your labor.  How joyful and prosperous you will be!

COPYRIGHT

© Jeanne Bugbee and The Lord Supplies, The Nose Bump Blog, 2017 to date.  Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this site’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited.  Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Jeanne Bugbee, The Lord Supplies and The Nose Bump Blog.  The Nose Bump blog with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Published by

TheNoseBump

This blog is designed to help others that may be going through the same 'nose bump' or basal cell carcinoma, that I am going through and provide inspiration along the way.

Leave a comment