The Lemoyne Star

Isaiah 44:12  The man shapes iron into a cutting tool and does his work over the coals, fashioning it with hammers and working it with his strong arm.

The Lemoyne Star cutting tool is one I’ve wanted to add to my cutting tool collection for a while now.  The problem has been that there really aren’t very many quilt shops in the area any more.  Usually it’s the small shops that carry specialty items and often offer classes on how to use them.

This year I put the Lemoyne Star cutting tool on my wish list as a possible item for my Secret Santa to get for our gift exchange.  We usually have a price limit so we don’t all go broke.

My Secret Santa got me the cutting tool for one of my gifts.

Naturally I had to try it out.  Before making anything too big, I usually make a mock-up square or two and make sure it works!!  Well, it probably works just fine, it’s me that sometimes gets ahead of myself, thinking I know what needs to be done next!!  Imagine that!?!  And, I end up skipping an important step.  I decided to make the ‘Star’ into a ‘Snowflake’ and make a new table runner for January.  I thought I’d need three or four snowflake squares.

The strips were a little different from my usual strip quilting.  Usually the strips are the same width.  For the Lemoyne Star, one strip, the bottom one, is wider than the other one.  And you off-set the narrow strip placing it lower rather than even ends.

5E594FD7-C4E3-4AAD-8092-6E79F6C2082E

I made the cuts like it said, but it didn’t seem like it was right.  So I decided to stop for lunch and read the directions again.

It should be right so I continued.  But my sense was that it was still off.  Before I cut any more diagonals, I decided to do the next step which was matching the seam lines with the 45° angle for trimming.

My sense was right.  I was way off!!

My seams should have matched on the dotted ‘11′ lines on both sides.  It also should have been a little longer on the sides and top.

I don’t know exactly what I did wrong, but my next cuts were accurate.  In the meantime …

Two Snubber disasters!!  I’m still not sure what happened.  My cuts were accurate, but I think maybe I looked at the wrong lines.

Proverbs 25:13  Like the cold of snow in the time of harvest, Is a faithful messenger to those who send him, For he refreshes the soul of his masters.

My Lemoyne Snowflakes came out beautifully. The center points of the stars were near perfect.

I’ve already started another runner and will try to see where I went wrong, hopefully no Snubber squares!!

COPYRIGHT

© Jeanne Bugbee and The Lord Supplies, The Nose Bump Blog, 2017 to date.  Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this site’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited.  Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Jeanne Bugbee, The Lord Supplies and The Nose Bump Blog.  The Nose Bump blog with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

 

Published by

TheNoseBump

This blog is designed to help others that may be going through the same 'nose bump' or basal cell carcinoma, that I am going through and provide inspiration along the way.

Leave a comment