Watermelon Pickles

Recently I picked up a watermelon bargain, $2.00. I have been wanting to get one because I wanted to make some watermelon pickles. I rarely buy them whole because you can’t see if they are nice and red, sweet and juicy. This one was barely pink. Not the best tasting, however it will be fine for my pickles.

First I cut it up into about 1” slices.

Then cut the melon into near squares for my salad and snack. Next, I peeled it and cut it into 1” squares and triangles. I thought I was making a quilt!!

I had the other half of the melon rinds in the fridge so I prepared them too.

They need to soak in pickling salt overnight.

Numbers 11:5 We remember the fish which we ate freely in Egypt, the cucumbers, the [water]melons, the leeks, the onions, and the garlic;

In the morning, I drained and rinsed the rinds after setting in pickling salt overnight and then covered with water and cooked about 30-minutes. I was using an online recipe and checked a couple different recipes, one said cook 10-minutes and another said an hour; I split the difference and cooked them about 30-minutes. Both recipes also called for maraschino cherries, however I’ve never used them before so I didn’t use them this time either.

When all else fails, I refer to the ‘old blue cookbook’ for reference. I love it but sometimes the recipes are a little general, like ‘add salt to taste.’

Anyway, it confirmed my recipe, however didn’t specify draining after cooking 2-3 hours and before adding the syrup. Two to three hours, not 10-minutes or an hour?!? I think you are supposed to just know to drain them again.

While they were cooking, I made the syrup. It calls for cinnamon sticks and whole cloves, but I used ground powder instead.

Next, pour the syrup mixture over the pickles and cook down until the syrup thickens.

They are my favorite pickle accompaniment with Thanksgiving dinner.

Psalm 139:14 “I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made.”

Looking for recipes for your garden harvest? Search ‘recipes’ and see what I’ve been pickling.

COPYRIGHT © Jeanne Bugbee and The Lord Supplies, The Nose Bump Blog, 2017 to date.  Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this site’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited.  Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Jeanne Bugbee, The Lord Supplies and The Nose Bump Blog.  The Nose Bump blog with appropriate and specific direction to the original content. *Addendum to my copyright, I don’t have a say in what wordpress is advertising at the bottom of my blog pages, so it appears that it is something I support, which I may or may not. **And now, having seen a few, there’s precious few I support. *** Time lapse, I’ve just noticed they are now putting the ads throughout the blog, I’m so sorry for the annoyance.

Published by

TheNoseBump

This blog is designed to help others that may be going through the same 'nose bump' or basal cell carcinoma, that I am going through and provide inspiration along the way.

Leave a comment