The Spot

64BED9B2-F620-4842-A8B3-4D9B58946DAC

Leviticus 13:22  And if it spreads in the skin, then the priest shall pronounce him unclean; it is a disease.

If you are like me, you have fabric in your stash that you’ve had a while.  Maybe quite a while.  Possibly even so long you don’t remember where you bought it!!

Recently I was going through my fabric stash and looking for something else for a project I was working on.  I came across this polkadot piece of fabric that I’ve had for eons.  It was one that I didn’t remember what I was going to make originally.

F6E73501-EBD1-4F25-90F0-C20D2BE00E52

Have you ever noticed clothing styles?  I love that phrase, ‘if you keep it long enough, it will be back in style.’  Over the years I’ve had a few scarves that I wear with certain outfits.  I also inherited a few scarves that my mother used to wear that I love to incorporate into my wardrobe.  The latest trend is something called an infinity scarf.  I love them!!

The thing about all of these scarves; old, new, infinity; is that they can quickly and easily dress up an outfit, even a tee-shirt.   The infinity ones are great because it’s basically a big circle that you can make one, two maybe even three loops, put it around your neck and it won’t blow away in a wild winds.

A week or two ago I wore one of my scarves with a knot in the front.  I stopped to get gas, the winds were whipping and suddenly my scarf knot was in the back!!  Immediately I thought I should have worn an infinity scarf.

4AB06364-7DBE-45B7-9D35-568F3E9EFDD4

With my new and improved nose bump,  I have read a few articles about skin cancer and last year discovered that May is Skin Cancer Awareness Month.  I also learned that orange is the color of skin cancer, like pink is the color for breast cancer, all the different cancers have a color to help promote awareness.  In addition, it seems that the polkadot also can represent skin cancer awareness, like a spot.

Suddenly I had a brilliant idea!!*  I would use my polkadot fabric I found, that was eons old, make an infinity scarf to help promote skin cancer awareness and, mainly have a new accessory to go with some of my outfits.

Are you ready for an infinity scarf tutorial?   For the pattern, I decided to use the measurements of an infinity scarf that I had on hand.  I measured it and it was about 22” x 80.”

BE678AB0-8588-4721-8F04-156408B319E7

After prewashing the fabric, I cut off the raw edges.  The length wasn’t long enough for the 80 inches, so I added a section that was about 20”.

B066B975-AE75-45B1-936E-04EBE00D7296

Right sides together, I stitched the length, end and other length side, basically making a long narrow pillow case.  There may be other ways to make the scarf, however in my mind every time I would turn it inside out, the scarf wouldn’t come out right.  I decided I didn’t want to take that much time to make it wrong and have to seam rip it out.  So I stuck with simple.

DDD929F0-71EE-4F4F-A6B2-8A54B0FE19A1

While the scarf was inside out, I took extra time to make sure I didn’t have any straggling threads on it that would show through on the right side.  Turn, press and stitch the two ends together.  I used a flat felled seam to enclose the raw edges.

E94CCCAE-D68F-45B5-A300-D9B59D1A3C5B

The infinity scarf was ready and I wore it a few days later to an event.  I got more compliments on it than I think I’ve had on any other scarf.  I was even able to talk about skin cancer awareness with a couple of people.

Have fun making your infinity scarf!

* ‘A brilliant idea …’. My Great nephew was telling me that he had, ‘a brilliant idea.’  He was 5-years old at the time.  You might have thought he’d have an idea.  Or a good idea.  No, he had a brilliant idea.  I asked him if I could use his phrase in the blog from time to time.

3 John 1:2  Beloved, I pray that all may go well with you and that you may be in good health, as it goes well with your soul.

 

COPYRIGHT

© Jeanne Bugbee and The Lord Supplies, The Nose Bump Blog, 2017 to date.  Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this site’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited.  Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Jeanne Bugbee, The Lord Supplies and The Nose Bump Blog.  The Nose Bump blog with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

 

Published by

TheNoseBump

This blog is designed to help others that may be going through the same 'nose bump' or basal cell carcinoma, that I am going through and provide inspiration along the way.

Leave a comment