Sewphie’s Sewing Tips

9D176FD1-2281-42F7-AFD6-EF3EBF93E3EF

Ecclesiastes 3:7  A time to tear apart and a time to sew together; A time to be silent and a time to speak.

As I wrote about in, “It All Started with a Thimble,” I started sewing when I was around ten-years old.  I’ve sewn a lot of different projects; from stuffed animals to draperies, aprons to bell bottoms; and everything in between.  The majority of my sewing now is quilting projects.

Sew, for this mini-blog page, I thought I would post a sewing tip from time to time.  I hope you find them helpful.  I’ve entitled this series, “Sewphie’s Sewing Tips.”

Sewing Tip Number One

BA6BD448-B27A-4A3C-B8AE-B4A2328FB267

Invest in a good seam ripper!!

Many of you know that I taught Home Economics for several years before schools cut the programs from their budgets.  At one school, they had decided that students should have a quilting class instead of the traditional clothing construction class.  The students were doing a great job and I decided that it might be nice to reward students as they took pride in their work.

I decided to have a “Sewer of the Week.”  More often than not, the sewer of the week, would be someone that ended up perhaps removing more stitches than they wanted.  I tried to instill in them that this was a trait of a great sewer.  If they removed the wrong stitches now, it would make it easier later as they went on.  And, they would be happier with their final project.

The prize for being selected Sewer of the Week, was a seam ripper!!

 

COPYRIGHT

© Jeanne Bugbee and The Lord Supplies, The Nose Bump Blog, 2017 to date.  Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this site’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited.  Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Jeanne Bugbee, The Lord Supplies and The Nose Bump Blog.  The Nose Bump blog with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

 

 

Published by

TheNoseBump

This blog is designed to help others that may be going through the same 'nose bump' or basal cell carcinoma, that I am going through and provide inspiration along the way.

Leave a comment