Sewphie’s Pins

9D176FD1-2281-42F7-AFD6-EF3EBF93E3EF

Ecclesiastes 3:7  A time to tear apart and a time to sew together; A time to be silent and a time to speak.

Sewing Tip Number Two

B571634B-72CC-42CB-923D-784E210FAFF9

Develop a pin system that works for you!!

Here, Sewphie is showing one of my pin systems.  This one reminds me of two things.

  1. Left side
  2. Pressing direction

When I’m ready to begin sewing quilt squares into rows, I use a flat head pins that I have written numbers on them to indicate the rows. Usually I use even numbers; 2, 4, 6, etc., for even rows; and odd numbers for the odd rows.

I will put a pin in the left square, Row 1, pin #1, Row 2, pin #2, etc.  In some projects it might not matter, but if there’s a pattern and it needs to be in a certain way, I don’t want to flip my row to be on the opposite side.  The pin reminds me to put that square on the left.

In addition, I will point the pin in the direction that I need to press the seams of the row so that they will nest together when I put two rows together.

Happy Sewing!!

 

COPYRIGHT

© Jeanne Bugbee and The Lord Supplies, The Nose Bump Blog, 2017 to date.  Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this site’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited.  Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Jeanne Bugbee, The Lord Supplies and The Nose Bump Blog.  The Nose Bump blog with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

 

Published by

TheNoseBump

This blog is designed to help others that may be going through the same 'nose bump' or basal cell carcinoma, that I am going through and provide inspiration along the way.

Leave a comment