New Potatoes

E6C85F0D-9C69-4C57-BE63-8DD9DAD35B2A

Proverbs 20:12-13  Ears that hear and eyes that see— the LORD has made them both.  Do not love sleep or you will grow poor; stay awake and you will have food to spare.

When I was growing up, like most of my neighbors, I lived on a small family farm.  Mainly we grew potatoes.  For rotation crops we grew peas, buckwheat and oats.

In Spring, I helped cut potato seed by hand, especially the russets.  Each piece of seed needed to be cut with an eye in it so it would sprout.  Occasionally we’d miss a cut and would have a few pieces of seed without eyes.  My father would say, “that’s okay, they’ll hear the other potatoes growing and they’ll grow too!”

This year they planted three different kinds of potatoes in this field.  I love how you can see the red, white and blue blossoms.  Sometimes, like when I took this picture of just a small portion of the field, I don’t quite know how we cut all that seed by hand.  It kind of boggles my mind now.  And, it really overwhelms me when I watch today’s farmer’s go through the field in a day or two with what used to take us a week or more.

33553A40-05F6-44C7-8982-17B37826DD3A

Genesis 8:22  While the earth remains, seedtime and harvest, cold and heat, summer and winter, day and night, shall not cease.

It was always our goal to have new potatoes and peas for our Fourth of July dinner.  My grandmother and mother would get a salmon and make dinner rolls for our Independence Day celebration.  I’m pretty traditional, I still make this menu.

Lately though it seems new potatoes aren’t ready for the Fourth.  Now, I usually get them during our Potato Blossom Festival week, or the third week of July.  This year it was even later by the time I got some.  The other day I bought, and yes; it nearly killed me to buy potatoes; and had a little feast of new potatoes.

Here’s the recipe.

79529361-F455-4D94-BB2E-6C505A08E491

New Potatoes

  • Wash a bunch of new potatoes.
  • Put in a saucepan and cover with water.
  • Cook until fork tender.
  • Drain.
  • Serve hot with butter.

Yes, butter, don’t ruin delicious new potatoes, or homemade rolls, with margarine.  In fact, here’s a tip, don’t ruin anything with margarine.

F5F730C1-10A1-4086-B102-913BB4E06419

This year because of COVID-19 the Potato Blossom Festival and all the activities were cancelled.  It brought tears to my eyes to think that our traditions were cancelled.

EBBAB740-15C9-4C5A-AA31-3E6AF85146A7

COVID-19 updates.

53A5FAA0-7618-4CD0-BF20-29D2BB6AB039

Had to get some more new potatoes!!

A59A7A51-E236-48C1-985C-8BCE548B208E

COPYRIGHT

© Jeanne Bugbee and The Lord Supplies, The Nose Bump Blog, 2017 to date.  Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this site’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited.  Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Jeanne Bugbee, The Lord Supplies and The Nose Bump Blog.  The Nose Bump blog with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Published by

TheNoseBump

This blog is designed to help others that may be going through the same 'nose bump' or basal cell carcinoma, that I am going through and provide inspiration along the way.

Leave a comment