The Disappearing Elephants

James 4:14-15  You don’t know the first thing about tomorrow.  You’re nothing but a wisp of fog, catching a brief bit of sun before disappearing.  Instead, make it a habit to say, “If the Master wills it and we’re still alive, we’ll do this or that.” MSG

After finishing the baby quilt for my friend, I went back to making more Lemoyne Stars for the quilt I had originally started.  My thought was that I would need 20 – 30 squares.  I decided to start with five rows of five for a square quilt.  Although I liked it, I didn’t think it would be a very practical size.  Ten more squares were on the schedule.

AD795D05-8EB3-426C-B5C1-46C5AB22C42B
It’s funny how my sewing has changed over the years.  I used to sew a project from beginning to end without stopping except maybe for lunch.  Or sleep.  Now everything is different.  Like for these ten extra stars.  I cut the strip sets for the stars one morning before I left to go shopping.

What?!?  Leaving the strip sets without sewing them?!!  Then when I got home, I sewed the sets together without pressing them.  What’s happening to me?!?  The next day I had a couple hours so I pressed them and made the first diagonal cuts.  Again, I left the pile on the cutting board while I did something else.

6FC71FCD-857F-4956-B8B4-3261DD16C38F

Later I had another hour or so and took advantage of the time to trim my stack of star wedges.

Maybe it’s older and wiser that brings on change.  Or maybe it’s not needing to finish the project immediately as early on in my sewing days.  Perhaps it’s being more organized.  Or better yet, maybe it’s that now, I use whatever time I have to get something done in the time available, whether it’s ten minutes or four hours.  I try to make the most of it.

The stars came together quickly.  I decided to use the brilliant sashing also using the bright fabrics.

13244A35-D287-46C4-8A7D-C2074213A6BD

One of the bright fabrics I looked for was something purple.  Did you know, purple doesn’t always come in bright?  More often than not, it’s pale, like lavenders.  Or dark, like plums.

Sew, when I found a somewhat bright purple, that also had blenders of red and blue in it, I was quite excited.  Until I saw more of the fabric than the inch showing on the edge of the bolt on the shelf.

53AEAE96-9163-4C1C-88A9-DA15D02573D6

Elephants.  My nice, bright purple fabric had elephants on it!!  Now, don’t get me wrong, I like elephants, especially pink elephants like in a recent baby quilt, however these guys worried me a little.

I studied the fabric in the aisle for a while until the clerk came over and asked if she could help me find anything.  She’s new, and I don’t think she sews, sew I don’t think she understands visualizing fabrics for projects.  Maybe she thought I had a stroke or something since I was studying the purple elephants so long.

I decided to give the purple elephants a fighting chance.  I concluded that since I would be cutting the fabric into smaller strips and squares, that probably no one would even see the elephants.  They would disappear by sewing magic.  I named the quilt, “The Disappearing Elephants.”

COPYRIGHT

© Jeanne Bugbee and The Lord Supplies, The Nose Bump Blog, 2017 to date.  Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this site’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited.  Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Jeanne Bugbee, The Lord Supplies and The Nose Bump Blog.  The Nose Bump blog with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Published by

TheNoseBump

This blog is designed to help others that may be going through the same 'nose bump' or basal cell carcinoma, that I am going through and provide inspiration along the way.

Leave a comment