The Lesson

John 14:26  But when the Father sends the Comforter instead of me—and by the Comforter I mean the Holy Spirit—he will teach you much, as well as remind you of everything I myself have told you.

Sometimes I think the Lord has a funny way of teaching us the lesson He wants us to learn.  Recently I applied for a job that was with an agency opening a new office in my area.  I sent my resume out into cyberspace and again wondered if anyone would actually see it.

These online applications are all a little different.  There must be certain features employers can add to the basic ‘click here to apply.’  Like one that recently sent me to a ‘conscientious test’ before my application was considered complete.

It gave some instructions that told you the employer was looking for more information and that each question was timed.  Like I need that much stress in my life, like feeling you have to hurry through the SAT tests and hope you pass just so a college can have all your money.  Anyway, I took the test so the potential employer would at least look at my resume.

The first question went something like this:  You have finished all your tasks for the day, what will you do next?

  1. Pack up your stuff and go home early.
  2. Go to a co-workers office and talk about clients.
  3. Shop online on the agency computer.
  4. Stay in the break room and read a book.
  5. Start on your next tasks.

That should have been my first clue to withdraw my resume.  All the questions, about twenty of them, were exactly like that.  To me, the answers were obvious, but given today’s workforce, I expect a lot of them would select a different answer.

57EFAE92-E13D-42A8-9813-BCB2510F6B77

So, this most recent potential employer also had an extra ‘test’ or application to include with the resume.  One part asked for specific dates that they could call to set up an interview.  I offered a months worth of potential dates and times.  I wondered whatever happened to just calling and agreeing on a mutual time?

I googled the agency to do my ‘homework’ and ready myself for an interview.  The agency home base was in another state and they had expanded to Maine and were now expanding to northern Maine.  I was excited about it because the position I was applying for sounded exactly like one of my past jobs.  Like most of my positions, they have ended either by budget cuts or by grant funds ending.  Given the job description they listed, I had done all the tasks and felt confident that I would at least get an interview.

After doing my ‘homework’ I found out that one person that might be on the interview team was someone I had worked with in the past.  Now normally I would think that would be a good thing.  A built-in network.  A great reference.  Someone that knows your work, loyalty and dependability.

This person, you might remember and know if you’ve been following the blog.  It was the devil.

08e3d446-d12c-4ff6-82ee-b8cd3a123b83

John 13:7  Jesus replied, “You don’t understand now what I am doing, but someday you will.”

This is where I have to wonder what it is that the Lord is trying to teach me.  Despite being the devil, I liked this person.  I always looked at the positives of the situation when the devil asked me to leave my job.  It gave me time off, I met a great doc, I had the nose bump surgery, I published the nose bump blog, took a vacation with friends and I even had a lot of time to sew.

I didn’t resent this person.  I wasn’t jealous or envious.  So I couldn’t help but wonder if the Lord found this situation funny or ironic; or was there a lesson in here that He wanted me to get from it all.

Sometimes I’m not too good at subtle lessons.  I probably need to be whacked on the head to notice it.  Or, have it written in crayon on a scrap of paper.  Maybe I’ll just ask the Lord what the lesson is … and then listen.

1A75A722-A56A-4D49-9D3C-13B9E11F9A98

Ephesians 4:31-31  Get rid of all bitterness, rage and anger, brawling and slander, along with every form of malice.  Be kind and compassionate to one another, forgiving each other, just as in Christ God forgave you.

Maybe I was envious.  After all, this person took away from me a job I did well and really liked.  Needed.  And, the contract was supposed to last until I decided to retire.

Maybe I was jealous.  I knew the job and this person didn’t, yet I was the one being let go?  It didn’t make sense or seem right.

Maybe I did resent this person.  Right from day one, this person seemed to dislike me.

I didn’t think there was any way possible for me to get this new job, let alone an interview, if the devil was still involved.  I gave it ALL to the Lord.  He was the only One that could fight this battle for me.

F04C7737-5CC0-4F93-A2D1-0A14F415679B

1 Peter 5:7  Let him have all your worries and cares, for he is always thinking about you and watching everything that concerns you.

COPYRIGHT

© Jeanne Bugbee and The Lord Supplies, The Nose Bump Blog, 2017 to date.  Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this site’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited.  Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Jeanne Bugbee, The Lord Supplies and The Nose Bump Blog.  The Nose Bump blog with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Published by

TheNoseBump

This blog is designed to help others that may be going through the same 'nose bump' or basal cell carcinoma, that I am going through and provide inspiration along the way.

Leave a comment