The Bread and Butters vs The Dills


Numbers 11:5 We remember the fish which we used to eat free in Egypt, the cucumbers and the melons and the leeks and the onions and the garlic,

Pickles are such a great condiment! One of my favorites are Bread & Butter Pickles. Another favorite would have to be Dill Pickles. Each different pickle I have specific meals I usually have to compliment the dishes. Like cranberry jelly with Thanksgiving dinner.

And yes, I made both this year. I cut each recipe in half based on the amount of cucumbers I had. Sometimes I think I should have made more, but these should be enough to last through until next pickling season.

I didn’t have any fresh dill so I used dill seed. I also crushed about ten cloves of garlic instead of using just one clove.

It says to let them cure at least a week before opening. I’m thinking 2-3 days!!

When I am looking for a good old fashioned recipe, I always turn to some of Gram’s old Star Cookbooks. Some of the recipes are even hers!!

“Peel your onion and shed a tear For pickling time is drawing near.”


Another favorite of mine are Mustard Pickles. I haven’t made any yet this year because I have a few jars still. However, I still might make some, the season is early!!

As it turned out I had enough tomatoes, onions and peppers left so I decided to make Salsa. I had a little disaster. When I put the first spoonful of salsa in the jar, the jar exploded. A first for me, I’ve never had a jar explode before. I’m pretty sure it was sterilizing long enough for the change in heat. Probably a flaw in the jar.

I nearly cried loosing a jar with the shortage going on and having to throw out some delicious Salsa, but it had to be.

Is it wrong to have a meal of Bread and Butters right out of the jar? As an FYI, this was not part of my table etiquette units!!


Maybe I could pickle my sunflower seeds?

Coronavirus updates & by zip codes.

Check out and share some of my other Nose Bump blog pages.

COPYRIGHT

© Jeanne Bugbee and The Lord Supplies, The Nose Bump Blog, 2017 to date.  Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this site’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited.  Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Jeanne Bugbee, The Lord Supplies and The Nose Bump Blog.  The Nose Bump blog with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Published by

TheNoseBump

This blog is designed to help others that may be going through the same 'nose bump' or basal cell carcinoma, that I am going through and provide inspiration along the way.

Leave a comment