Tangy Dill Relish

Cucumbers ready to process.

I used some of the peppers from my salsa for a little zip.

Looks good, smells HOT!! Ooo oh!! 

It’s in pickling salt for a couple hours. Guess I’ll sew a while.

Jeremiah 29:5 ‘Build houses and live in them; and plant gardens and eat their produce.

I used cheesecloth to drain my rinsed veggies. I don’t usually, but needed the fine holes.

Spices.

Relish cooking 10-minutes. I think I actually let it cook down 30-minutes.

Four pints ready for a hotdog!! Or a cheeseburger!!

Delicious!!

Tangy Dill Relish

This is the basic recipe I used less the cornstarch. I combined a second online recipe I found that called for a hot pepper, so I added a few extra left from my salsa*.

  • 3 lbs  cucumbers (about 8-9 pickling cucumbers)
  • A few hot peppers* (optional)
  • 2 -3 sweet onions
  • 14 cup pickling salt
  • 3 cups white vinegar
  • 34 cup sugar
  • 4 -5 garlic cloves, minced 
  • 2 teaspoons dill seeds
  • 2 teaspoons mustard seeds
  • 2 teaspoons celery seeds
  • 12 teaspoon turmeric
  • 2 tablespoons cornstarch
  • Directions
  • Finely chop cucumbers and onions. Place in a large bowl and sprinkle with salt, stir well. Let stand for 1 hour.
  • Drain mixture in a colander, rinse under cold water and drain again, pressing out any excess moisture.
  • In a large pot, bring vinegar, sugar, garlic, dill seed, mustard seed, celery seed to a boil.
  • Add cucumber mixture, bring to a boil again, stirring frequently. Reduce heat and simmer for 10 minutes. After 9 minutes, mix the cornstarch with a bit of the simmering juice until no lumps remain. Add to the relish and mix well until thickened.
  • Remove from heat, add the turmeric and mix well.
  • Pour into sterilized jars, leaving 1/2 inch head space. Seal with lids and rings. Process in boiling water bath in canner for 10 minutes.

After the relish.

Missed some blogs? Find them here. Like and share with your friends.

COPYRIGHT © Jeanne Bugbee and The Lord Supplies, The Nose Bump Blog, 2017 to date.  Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this site’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited.  Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Jeanne Bugbee, The Lord Supplies and The Nose Bump Blog.  The Nose Bump blog with appropriate and specific direction to the original content. *Addendum to my copyright, I don’t have a say in what wordpress is advertising at the bottom of my blog pages, so it appears that it is something I support, which I may or may not.

Published by

TheNoseBump

This blog is designed to help others that may be going through the same 'nose bump' or basal cell carcinoma, that I am going through and provide inspiration along the way.

Leave a comment