Miss Quoddy

What do we have here?

Looks like another mystery.

Figured it out?

That doesn’t help much.


Could it be??

Yes!! West Quoddy Lighthouse. My friend was expecting a baby and the theme was nautical. Since we had lived in Lubec, I thought I’d make a West Quoddy Lighthouse baby quilt.

The most Eastern town in the United States, Lubec, Maine, where the sun rises first.

Psalm 104:25 There is the sea, vast and spacious, teeming with creatures beyond number— living things both large and small.

Machine quilting ocean waves. Don’t you just love the seagulls?

Almost done. A little puckering, but I’m not worried about it as it will ‘crinkle’ when it’s washed. I love the old fashioned look of how it’s used and loved.

Putting the binding on the back first and turning it to the front. One of the blogs I follow is always talking about winning the ‘binding chicken game.’ I get it!! I won!! I had about two inches left!! Yeahhh me!!

Next, a matching tote bag. I started with machine quilting both sides. I dug out my painters tape to machine quilt some hash lines.

All done. Wasn’t that quick?

For this bag I used vinyl for the bottom. I used my clips rather than pins to avoid holes in the vinyl.

I added a piece of the fabric to the webbing I used for the bottom of the pocket to give it a little extra bonus.

Before I trimmed the pocket, I lined up the pocket with the ocean blues. Yeahhh, it’s going to work the way I planned!!

Next, I sewed my fancy webbing onto the bottom of the pocket. Then I added the webbing for the handles, but forgot to get a picture.

I cut out about a 2” square for my box corners.

Ready for the lining.

Lining in and binding on.

Except for the blue fabric I used for the ocean; the lighthouse, clouds and seagulls are all one fabric. I fussy cut the lighthouses for the pockets and kept the seagulls flying around.


Some bibs. I threw in a couple other lighthouses that were in the border fabric.

A beautiful day for a rake picture.

Genesis 1:21 So God created the great creatures of the sea and every living thing with which the water teems and that moves about in it, according to their kinds, and every winged bird according to its kind. And God saw that it was good.

It was foggy at West Quoddy and sunny in town.

She precious!! I call her, Miss Quoddy.

Liking the blog? Share it with your friends and family.


COPYRIGHT © Jeanne Bugbee and The Lord Supplies, The Nose Bump Blog, 2017 to date.  Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this site’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited.  Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Jeanne Bugbee, The Lord Supplies and The Nose Bump Blog.  The Nose Bump blog with appropriate and specific direction to the original content. *Addendum to my copyright, I don’t have a say in what wordpress is advertising at the bottom of my blog pages, so it appears that it is something I support, which I may or may not. **And now, having seen a few, there’s precious few I support.

Published by

TheNoseBump

This blog is designed to help others that may be going through the same 'nose bump' or basal cell carcinoma, that I am going through and provide inspiration along the way.

Leave a comment