Lime Zest

Today I started a new project. It starts with a diagonal line in the center and an 11/4” line on each side of the center. I just use my trusty good old fashioned #2 pencil.

Is that a selvage? Yes!! It’s a selvage. I’ve been cutting off 11/4” of selvages for quite some time now. Usually one side has the fabric information and the other side is printed to the edge. I like both, I use the ones printed to the edge for small corners where the words or color dots would be cut off. First I lined it up with the second line centering my selvage information. The pattern calls for 95-yards of selvages!! I’m pretty sure I’ll have some selvages left over!!

Matthew 14:20 … And they took up twelve baskets full of the broken pieces (of fabric selvages) left over.

As I lined the selvages, I tried to make the best use of the wording and color dots leaving a 1/4” on the edges for trimming and the seam allowance. My plan for the center selvage is to use selvages that are unique designs. Also ones that are extra long and sew I can keep all the information.

For the most part, I selected selvages at random and mainly centered them.

I’m going to trim from the back. I didn’t think my background square pulled as much as it did, but I think it will be fine when it’s quilted.

Trimming and squaring up.

All trimmed.

“Are we there yet?” Almost, looks like I still need a few more blocks.

It looks like I have more selvages now than I began with!! I think they multiplied!!

Time for a mock-up. I love it!!


Rows together!! Wasn’t that quick? I’m calling it, ‘Lime Zest.’

It’s off to the long-armer.

Find blogs you missed right here. Like and share with your friends.

COPYRIGHT © Jeanne Bugbee and The Lord Supplies, The Nose Bump Blog, 2017 to date.  Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this site’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited.  Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Jeanne Bugbee, The Lord Supplies and The Nose Bump Blog.  The Nose Bump blog with appropriate and specific direction to the original content. *Addendum to my copyright, I don’t have a say in what wordpress is advertising at the bottom of my blog pages, so it appears that it is something I support, which I may or may not. **And now, having seen a few, there’s precious few I support.

Published by

TheNoseBump

This blog is designed to help others that may be going through the same 'nose bump' or basal cell carcinoma, that I am going through and provide inspiration along the way.

Leave a comment