Red Hot Prices

What do you suppose red hot prices is all about?

The other day I was looking for something that I thought I knew exactly where it was. It wasn’t there, however this somewhat heavy red hot Sampson’s bag was. Usually my brain can roll-it’s-dex around a few times and know the who, what, where and when of it all. Not this time. I might need to triple up on the ginkgo.

I was in love with whatever it was already!!

Everything old is new again.

I pulled out the rest of the items in the bag. It just kept getting better and better.

Next, a hand pieced Northern Star or Blazing Star quilt top. It’s spectacular.

Isaiah 40:8 The grass withers and the flowers fall, but the word of our God endures forever.

It was a beautiful sunny fall day so I decided the best way to get a good look at these red hot finds was to get a few rake pictures.

First, a Rose of Sharon quilt top.

It’s beautifully hand turned and appliquéd onto a square. On the back you only see the stitches, no raw edges.

This was the only small tear I noticed. There might be a few other little repairs needed, but I didn’t see any.

Song of Solomon 2:1 I am the rose of Sharon, and the lily of the valleys.

Also called Lone Star or Broken Star, this quilt top has hundreds of diamond pieces, each about one inch, all hand stitched, creating the stars. The border is diamond pieces too, I’m sure from the leftovers.

Two water stains that was probably one, but because of the way it was folded, the water seeped through, and made two.

The border and mitered corner.

Corner close up of a seam added in the border because it was too short. I make these ‘splits’ all the time. Some quilter’s don’t like to put seams in pieces, however I think of it like the older quilter’s, piecing as needed.

The back.

Notice about three of the brighter blue polka dots that are sewn in backwards.

The final one, actually was the first one I pulled out of the bag, is a Nine-Patch. It’s alternating the nine-patch and a solid square creating the chain. There’s a little yellowing on one side, but I think I can research best ways to clean it.

I follow a couple quilting blogs and one lady often writes about finding and rescuing old quilts from thrift stores. She explains about the problem(s) and how she repairs them. She’s had many posts about taking the quilts she finds apart and re-sewing them. I doubt I’ll do that.

Close up of a nine-patch and hand quilting.

The hand quilting. The binding was machine stitched, perhaps on a treadle.

I really don’t have any memory of where I got these gorgeous red hot finds. Although both my mother and grandmother sewed clothing, I don’t remember either one of them quilting. I did ‘find’ them packed with stuff from my teaching year’s. Yes, I still have stuff packed. Pathetic I know. Anyway, that narrows down the mystery to perhaps mom found them at a yard sale or someone gave them to her and she in turn gave them to me during a visit.

Or, maybe someone gave them to me thinking I’d be able to finish them. Either way, they are precious pieces of history and I love them.

2 Corinthians 5:7 Therefore if any man be in Christ, he is a new creature: old things are passed away; behold, all things are become new.

I still need to look for what I was originally looking for.

Looking for something to read? Look no further.

COPYRIGHT © Jeanne Bugbee and The Lord Supplies, The Nose Bump Blog, 2017 to date.  Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this site’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited.  Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Jeanne Bugbee, The Lord Supplies and The Nose Bump Blog.  The Nose Bump blog with appropriate and specific direction to the original content. *Addendum to my copyright, I don’t have a say in what wordpress is advertising at the bottom of my blog pages, so it appears that it is something I support, which I may or may not. **And now, having seen a few, there’s precious few I support.

Published by

TheNoseBump

This blog is designed to help others that may be going through the same 'nose bump' or basal cell carcinoma, that I am going through and provide inspiration along the way.

Leave a comment