Diamonds on Display at the Guild


Last month the Guild was informed about a quilt challenge. The guidelines were limited to any diamond pattern or technique, any size and any fabric, however, there had to be at least one piece of silk necktie in the square.

A bin of men’s silk ties that were available for the diamond challenge. A woman donated them and when she told her husband she was giving them away, he cried.

The Guild president set up a table with possible patterns and some squares already made using ties.

Exodus 28:18 and the second row a turquoise, a sapphire and a diamond;

I picked up a couple ties for my square.

The secretary checked off the return of our raffle quilt squares.

Sew Day

This lady was working on clue #1 for her Mystery Quilt, the cutting.


This lady was rescuing a mistake. She had made a mistake early on when cutting it, sew she changed the pattern and used the squares for a different project. This one will be a Quilt of Valor.

I wondered about this machine. I had never seen one like it before, I’ve seen a lot of machines over the years. Later I heard someone say, ‘she painted it.’ I was going to ask more about it, but was distracted. Maybe I’ll remember to ask next month.

The Demo

For the demonstration, this lady explained how she uses strip quilting to make borders.

Sew & Tell

This lady showed us hanger covers made from recycled pillowcases and doilies. She also showed a table runner she made for a friend that sends her pecans from her trees.

This woman explained that she belongs to a couple of quilt guilds, and at one of them they did a ‘five-fabric bag exchange.’ Everyone participating drew bags and made a quilt from the five fabrics in the bag they selected. At the meeting the quilts were revealed, members had to guess which quilt was theirs. She couldn’t remember that these were her fabrics.

The same woman also participated in another group project. This one, you made the center square, and the next month it’s passed along to another quilter, and that person adds two sides to the project in Log Cabin style. This continues for five pass along’s before you get your quilt back and see what everyone has added to it.

Next, she showed us one of her UFO’s, UnFinished Objects. She started it over twenty-years ago. It was her first time sewing with batik’s. It’s beautiful.

This lady told us she has made everyone in her family a quilt and this one is for her husband. His favorite color is orange and he likes dogs. She had it quilted using a paw print design. On the back, she used money fabric.

This lady made a butterfly quilt for her daughter.

I showed one, yes one, of my WIP, Works-in-Progress, from the Designing Quilts book. The president asked a question. Would I finish it, adding a border and sleeve for hanging? Also, if I would add some of the silk ties for it to be displayed at the Maine State Quilt Show in the diamond exhibition? She saw the diamond in the octopus garden.

I’m going to rename it, Thirty-Six Carat Diamond.

At the end of the meeting, the president showed a picture of her grandson on fabric. I’ve seen the technique before, but never tried it. There’s something else to add to my ‘to sew’ list.

Search ‘Guild’ to see what else is going on.


COPYRIGHT © Jeanne Bugbee and The Lord Supplies, The Nose Bump Blog, 2017 to date.  Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this site’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited.  Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Jeanne Bugbee, The Lord Supplies and The Nose Bump Blog.  The Nose Bump blog with appropriate and specific direction to the original content. *Addendum to my copyright, I don’t have a say in what wordpress is advertising at the bottom of my blog pages, so it appears that it is something I support, which I may or may not. **And now, having seen a few, there’s precious few I support.

Published by

TheNoseBump

This blog is designed to help others that may be going through the same 'nose bump' or basal cell carcinoma, that I am going through and provide inspiration along the way.

Leave a comment