Guild Squares

Today I started sewing my packets of squares for our annual quilt raffle. I had taken five packets, one border, one log cabin and three stars.


I started with a star.

The first couple steps were pretty basic. Making four flying geese.

The mock-up didn’t look right to me. I didn’t have the picture of the actual pattern, but instinct told me something was wrong.

The picture in the directions proved my instinct. Do you see it?

Flying geese numbers 1 & 2 need to be a light colored fabric. In addition, the quarter square triangle in the center (5) needs two different lights and two darks to create a dark side of the star and a light side, not an hourglass.

I put it back in the bag.

Then I dug out the next packet. A log cabin square.

This packet worked well. Yeahhh!!

Next I did the last packet, a border.

Stitched and pressed.

Cut and ready to go.

I sent an email to the guild members to see if anyone else encountered the same problem with the star packet. I haven’t heard anything yet.

Colossians 2:3 In him lie hidden all the treasures of wisdom and knowledge.


Time lapse. I heard back from another lady that had the same problem. Later the secretary emailed and confirmed the star packet needed additional fabric. She said we could use fabrics from our stash if we had the colors.

Because I had three packets I was able to get most of the fabrics from the packets. For example, I’d get four dark geese from one packet, but only needed two per block, so I used the two ‘extras’ for one of my other blocks. I did have to find some from my stash that wasn’t orange or purple!!

Done!! Pressed, trimmed and packed!! Ready to take to the next meeting. Hopefully I won’t forget them!!

2 Corinthians 8:11 Now finish doing it also, so that just as there was the readiness to desire it, so there may be also the completion of it by your ability.

Missed a blog? Find them here!!

COPYRIGHT © Jeanne Bugbee and The Lord Supplies, The Nose Bump Blog, 2017 to date.  Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this site’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited.  Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Jeanne Bugbee, The Lord Supplies and The Nose Bump Blog.  The Nose Bump blog with appropriate and specific direction to the original content. *Addendum to my copyright, I don’t have a say in what wordpress is advertising at the bottom of my blog pages, so it appears that it is something I support, which I may or may not. **And now, having seen a few, there’s precious few I support.

Published by

TheNoseBump

This blog is designed to help others that may be going through the same 'nose bump' or basal cell carcinoma, that I am going through and provide inspiration along the way.

Leave a comment