Beautiful October

October started with a beautiful foggy, hazy sunrise.

I was in a fog. Later I heard some of it was smoke from a Canadian wildfire.

Potato harvest in full swing.

It rained overnight and was too wet to dig.

The sweet smell of topsoil from freshly dug potatoes.

Jeremiah 5:24 Neither say they in their heart, Let us now fear the LORD our God, that giveth rain, both the former and the latter, in his season: he reserved unto us the appointed weeks of the harvest.

Saw this guy.

Another traffic jam.

My beautiful leaves before hurricane Philippe.

A day or two after Philippe.


About mid-month. Still getting some El Niño rains, but the temperatures are staying warmer than usual and the sunsets are gorgeous!!

Matthew 16:3 He replied, “You are good at reading the weather signs of the skies—red sky tonight means fair weather tomorrow; red sky in the morning means foul weather all day—but you can’t read the obvious signs of the times!

My friends are so creative and have another great seasonal barrel display welcoming folks to town.

Saw this majestic guy. He had been in the road, but didn’t fly too far away.

It’s frosty. First frost of the season.

1 Corinthians 15:33 Don’t be fooled by those who say such evil things. If you listen to them you will start acting like them.

Yes, I did sew on my temperature squares. Notice the date on the top one, 9/16. The October ones are at the bottom of the pile.

Can you see it? My burdocks are too tall.

It’s fall plowing.

Isaiah 28:24 Does the farmer plow continually to plant seed? Does he continually turn and harrow the ground?

Here’s how I set up my Ford assembly cutting/sewing line. First I write the date in what will be the seam on the high temperature square and line them up. Next, since we are still in an El Niño weather pattern, I add a gray polka dot fabric representing rain to the dates it rained. Then I add the low temperature colors to the piles.

All the dates stitched and ready to be trimmed and pressed.

All pressed and ready for squaring up.

By the end of the month, the leaves were all down. My dear old neighbor used to say that when the leaves were off the maples, it would snow.

Two days later on the 30th, we got our first snow of the season.

I had tried to get a picture of the Partial Eclipse and the Hunter’s Moon but it was too cloudy. I think my roses are just as beautiful.

The month ended on a scary note.

Search ‘temperature quilt’ to find out how it’s sewing along.

COPYRIGHT © Jeanne Bugbee and The Lord Supplies, The Nose Bump Blog, 2017 to date.  Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this site’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited.  Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Jeanne Bugbee, The Lord Supplies and The Nose Bump Blog.  The Nose Bump blog with appropriate and specific direction to the original content. *Addendum to my copyright, I don’t have a say in what wordpress is advertising at the bottom of my blog pages, so it appears that it is something I support, which I may or may not. **And now, having seen a few, there’s precious few I support. *** Time lapse, I’ve just noticed they are now putting the ads throughout the blog, I’m so sorry for the annoyance.

Published by

TheNoseBump

This blog is designed to help others that may be going through the same 'nose bump' or basal cell carcinoma, that I am going through and provide inspiration along the way.

Leave a comment