Dyeing


What do we have here? If your guess is a reflection of my ceiling, you’d be right.

It’s not always that I pre-wash my fabric before I start cutting and sewing, however sometimes with darker fabrics, I will at least soak them in the sink. The picture doesn’t really show just how much purple dye came out.

It’s usually the navy, reds and blacks that I’ll pre-wash. If you happened to have washed something and the colors run, there is a little hope to get rid of the bleeding color.

BEFORE putting the item in the dryer and it (the bleeding) getting heat set, you can re-wash using Color Catchers. Some of the quilt blogs I follow suggest using more than one in each load. You might also have to wash the item(s) several times before the dye is gone. All washings must be done before you dry the item.

There are a few other ways to prevent the bleeding. Again, BEFORE using the fabric, you can ‘set’ the dye like my grandmother and mother used to do, adding 1/2 cup of white vinegar to the wash cycle. You could also use 1/2 cup of baking soda OR, 1/2 cup of salt to the wash cycle. I especially remember my mother using white vinegar with new blue jeans. I don’t know why, but it worked.

Exodus 35:23 Every man, who had in his possession blue and purple and scarlet material and fine linen and goats’ hair and rams’ skins dyed red and porpoise skins, brought them.

Find your pre-summer reading right here.


COPYRIGHT © Jeanne Bugbee and The Lord Supplies, The Nose Bump Blog, 2017 to date.  Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this site’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited.  Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Jeanne Bugbee, The Lord Supplies and The Nose Bump Blog.  The Nose Bump blog with appropriate and specific direction to the original content. *Addendum to my copyright, I don’t have a say in what wordpress is advertising at the bottom of my blog pages, so it appears that it is something I support, which I may or may not. **And now, having seen a few, there’s precious few I support.

Published by

TheNoseBump

This blog is designed to help others that may be going through the same 'nose bump' or basal cell carcinoma, that I am going through and provide inspiration along the way.

Leave a comment