Bear Paws

Remember these guys? If you are following the blog, you may remember a bear attacked me when I started this quilt. Well, it felt like a bear attack. It was way back when I fell and broke my wrist. I actually got back to sewing bear claws about a week after the fall. Only to find out later I broke it rather than just a sprain.

The bears are out of hibernation!! They are probably getting ready to go back in!! In the meantime, they made it back to the top of my ‘to sew’ list.

Four rows of bear paws. I usually lay them out on the bed, but today I just draped them over my thread rack. Sew far it’s holding them up.

My sunflowers are sooo late this year. The good news is, I think I’ll have a few blossoms before the snow starts flying!!

I used the brilliant sashing on it. You add sashing to each square rather than a long skinny row. Sew the bottom sashing first. Oops, little photo blooper. I wasn’t sewing this where the foot is, it’s just where the square was when I took the picture.

Bottom (1) on first. Then since I sewed left to right, I sewed strip set (2) next, then (3). Strip sets 2 and 3 have the cornerstones attached.

Adding the rest of the sashing to the squares in the row only need the bottom and right side. Remember, sashing (3) is already on the square to the left (since I’m sewing left to right, you could certainly sew right to left and apply the same principle.) It’s brilliant sashing!!

I couldn’t figure out why my machine stopped sewing. I lifted the fabric and had run over one of my flathead pins!! I haven’t done that in years!!

Close up. I’m probably going to need a new needle.

I moved my next marker pin down some!!

Looks like game day!! I see a Snubber!!

17 right before his goal.

My sleuth of Bear Paws.


Proverbs 17:12 Let a man meet a bear robbed of her cubs, Rather than a fool in his folly.

Find blogs you’ve missed right here.

COPYRIGHT © Jeanne Bugbee and The Lord Supplies, The Nose Bump Blog, 2017 to date.  Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this site’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited.  Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Jeanne Bugbee, The Lord Supplies and The Nose Bump Blog.  The Nose Bump blog with appropriate and specific direction to the original content. *Addendum to my copyright, I don’t have a say in what wordpress is advertising at the bottom of my blog pages, so it appears that it is something I support, which I may or may not. **And now, having seen a few, there’s precious few I support.

Published by

TheNoseBump

This blog is designed to help others that may be going through the same 'nose bump' or basal cell carcinoma, that I am going through and provide inspiration along the way.

Leave a comment