The Bear Paw

Today I chain stitched some four-patches for the beginnings of a bear paw quilt.

Pile of paws waiting to be pressed.

Well, what do you think is going on here? Bear attack? That’s a good guess. Just as my knee was getting back to almost normal, I fell again. Can you believe it?!! I can’t.

‘I’ve fallen and I can’t get up.’ Ever heard that? It took me a while, but I managed to crawl to a chair and pull myself up. I thought about calling Rescue 911, but my arm/wrist seemed about the same as my knee; no blood or bones sticking out; so I decided to wait for the swelling to go down and see how it feels. When my brain could function again, the doc in me decided it was my wrist.

Isaiah 53:5 he was wounded for our transgressions, he was bruised for our iniquities: the chastisement of our peace was upon him; and by his stripes we are healed.

About a week after the bear fight, I felt like I could try sewing again. I chain stitched a bunch of bear claws. Yes, bear have claws. Pretty bigs ones. That sometimes leave black and blue marks on arms.


Pressing some bear claws, AKA half square triangles. I need something like 420 claws. I have about a hundred sew far. Did you notice my new wool press mat? I’ve been wanting to get one, but thought they were too expensive. I found this one online on sale, 70% off. I figured that’s about as good a bargain as I’d find. I like it.

My friends sunflower still standing through all our snow storms. Isn’t it lovely? It shows how resilient we are here in the County.

Proverbs 17:12 Let a man meet a bear robbed of her cubs, Rather than a fool in his folly.

First mock-up of the Bear Paw square. I love it!! Stay tuned!!

Sew what you’ve been missing.

COPYRIGHT © Jeanne Bugbee and The Lord Supplies, The Nose Bump Blog, 2017 to date.  Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this site’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited.  Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Jeanne Bugbee, The Lord Supplies and The Nose Bump Blog.  The Nose Bump blog with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Published by

TheNoseBump

This blog is designed to help others that may be going through the same 'nose bump' or basal cell carcinoma, that I am going through and provide inspiration along the way.

Leave a comment