The Odd Question

The other day someone from the dermatologists office called to set up an appointment. Has a year gone by already?

She asked, “what do you want him to look at?”

I hesitated and said, “I don’t know, what do dermatologists look at??, skin???” I thought, ‘what an odd question.’ I’m still not convinced the people that work in this office are fully qualified.

I did have this odd bump on my head. I didn’t give it much thought because it had been there quite some time and I’d asked him about it the last couple appointments, aka couple of years, and he had said, “oh that’s nothing.”

I decided to get a picture of it. Why? I have no idea. At the time, I wasn’t thinking to blog about it. Do you know how hard it is to get a selfie of a bump on the back of your head? Anyway…45 deletes later…

So a couple months prior to the call for the appointment, I could feel the little scab on the bump. Probably not my best idea, but I managed to keep picking at it. The scab barely budged. One day I decided to put some of my trusty Bag Balm on it.

The next day I was again picking at the scab when the whole bump fell off in my hand!! I half expected to have blood gushing out, or brains, or both!! There was hardly a drop!! And not even one brain cell!!

The bump was about the size of a chickpea. I threw it away, but in hindsight, I thought I should have put it in a ziplock bag to give it to Doc Dermy the next time I saw him. Don’t you think he’d love a skin bump as a gift?!? I’ll have to charge my brain and ask him about it. Actually I think he should mention it to me; I would think he’d have the bump in his Latin notes; and ask me; ‘where’s the bump?’

Leviticus 13:38-39 “If anyone, either a man or woman, has shiny white patches {bumps} on the skin, the priest must examine the affected area. If he finds that the shiny patches are only pale white, this is a harmless skin rash, and the person is ceremonially clean.

As it happened, I had to cancel the appointment with Doc Dermy because I fell the day before it was scheduled. I was still in the ER, and not knowing if I had broken bones or not, I decided there was no way I could make it so I called to reschedule.

The rescheduled appointment was actually about two months later.

In the meantime, I noticed a different branch, and bump, on one of my plants. My aloe vera seems to have a blossom. I didn’t know aloe vera had blossoms. Its never had one before. I’m curious to seeing what it looks like.

The two months passed and we were in the middle of an Arctic Blast. Can you see it? Dust? What dust? No. – 21. I got my picture around mid-morning, most reports in my area were thirty below zero!! I got ready and went out to warm up the car and it didn’t start. It was just a little too cold for my car.

I called AAA and the estimated arrival was going to be about a half hour after the appointment. I called to see if it was okay if I was a little late or if they could squeeze me in and the receptionist said, ‘no, I’ll reschedule it,’ and gave me the new date about another two months away. Doc Dermy probably won’t remember me after all these cancellations.

Find out what you’ve been missing right here. Like and share with your friends.

COPYRIGHT © Jeanne Bugbee and The Lord Supplies, The Nose Bump Blog, 2017 to date.  Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this site’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited.  Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Jeanne Bugbee, The Lord Supplies and The Nose Bump Blog.  The Nose Bump blog with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Published by

TheNoseBump

This blog is designed to help others that may be going through the same 'nose bump' or basal cell carcinoma, that I am going through and provide inspiration along the way.

Leave a comment