Bear Claws


Today I sewed some bear claws together. They are actually half square triangles. I need something like 560 of them.

Did you know bears have right and left claws?

Proverbs 19:2 Enthusiasm without knowledge is no good; haste makes mistakes (waste.)

Forty left bear claws. All well and good, but I need right claws!!! Ugg!! I can’t believe it!! I checked and double checked and somehow turned them the wrong way. Guess I’ll take a coffee break and do some seam ripping.

Right claws attached.

One bunch of paws pressed.

Fifty more paws sewn and ready to press.

The fifty paws pressed. I put them in piles the way the squares will be. I better do some ‘goes-in-tas,’ I’m pretty sure I need more, but I think an inventory is in order.


This is what it looks like, remember? I started it waayyy back in January. I guess he’s been hibernating.

My bear claws needed a little pedicure.

Squaring up. Each paw is 6 1/4” after the pedicure.

One claw was a little off. I put one of my ‘stop’ pins in to remind me to snug up the seam when I get to it.

It managed to line up!! I have about eleven squares done and at least fourteen more to go. Originally I was going to make thirty, now I’m thinking twenty-five for a square quilt.

A sleuth of twenty-five bear paws. Stay tuned.

Missed a blog or two? Find them here or search a tag.

COPYRIGHT © Jeanne Bugbee and The Lord Supplies, The Nose Bump Blog, 2017 to date.  Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this site’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited.  Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Jeanne Bugbee, The Lord Supplies and The Nose Bump Blog.  The Nose Bump blog with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Published by

TheNoseBump

This blog is designed to help others that may be going through the same 'nose bump' or basal cell carcinoma, that I am going through and provide inspiration along the way.

Leave a comment