Dilly Dip

Every once in a while I buy this Dilly Dip. It’s delicious as a salad dressing. I usually end up spicing it up some, adding more dill weed and four or five cloves of garlic. Every time I buy it, I keep thinking I should just make my own.

I googled a few million recipes and didn’t find any I thought I’d like. So, I kept buying it. Well, this has real ingredients, no artificial colors, flavors or preservatives. It’s gluten free, which I question, and no high fructose corn syrup.

One day I decided to read the ingredients on the container and make the recipe from that. Sounded simple enough. After all, when I was teaching Home Economics I taught thousands of lessons on reading, understanding and using the label information.

Ingredients: Canola oil, nonfat sour cream (cultured skim milk, corn starch, tapioca starch, carrageenan, locust bean gum,) water, egg yolk, sugar, salt, distilled vinegar, green onion, apple cider vinegar, onion, modified corn starch, dill weed, dill seed, xanthan gum, lactic acid, dried garlic, mustard flour, spice, guar gum. CONTAINS: Egg, Milk.

I usually don’t eat anything that I can’t pronounce.

I may never buy this dip again. I’m not 100% sure what all the ingredients are. But …

… I draw the line at Locust Bean Gum.

Leviticus 11:22 These of them you may eat: the locust in its kinds, and the devastating locust in its kinds, and the cricket in its kinds, and the grasshopper in its kinds.

Well, maybe in an emergency.

Locust bean gum update. My niece sent me this link about the nutritional value of locust bean gum. I didn’t even think about googling it!!

I googled recipes again and settled on this one and modified it some. How do you like my recycled cheese container for dried dill? I gathered all my ingredients, except locust bean gum.

Dilly Dip

  • 1⁄4 cups mayonnaise
  • 2 cups sour cream
  • 3 tablespoons dried dill
  • 1⁄3 cup freshly grated parmesan cheese
  • 3 tablespoons fresh lemon juice
  • 1/2 cup grated onions
  • 3 large cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 teaspoons Worcestershire sauce
  • 1/2 – 1 teaspoon salt
DIRECTIONS
  • Whisk mayonnaise and sour cream in medium bowl until smooth; stir in remaining ingredients; season to taste.
  • Cover and chill 1 hour to blend flavors.

I forgot to add the parmesan cheese and Worcestershire sauce, but I’ll just put the cheese in the salad.

My friends gave me this chopper, it’s perfect for smaller recipes. Three or four pulls on the blade cord and the onion and garlic are all diced.

I might add a little more cream for a thinner consistency. Or the lemon juice.

Better than packaged!!

Need to catch up on missed blogs? Find them here.

COPYRIGHT © Jeanne Bugbee and The Lord Supplies, The Nose Bump Blog, 2017 to date.  Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this site’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited.  Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Jeanne Bugbee, The Lord Supplies and The Nose Bump Blog.  The Nose Bump blog with appropriate and specific direction to the original content. *Addendum to my copyright, I don’t have a say in what wordpress is advertising at the bottom of my blog pages, so it appears that it is something I support, which I may or may not.

Published by

TheNoseBump

This blog is designed to help others that may be going through the same 'nose bump' or basal cell carcinoma, that I am going through and provide inspiration along the way.

Leave a comment