Guild Homework

Sew, I decided to make a mock-up of the quilt square the Guild President gave us for the pattern, ‘Churn Dash’ also called, ‘Monkey Wrench.’ Actually there are about twenty other names for this block.

Half-square triangles (HST) are first.

Pile ready to be pressed toward the dark.

Pressing.

Side rails. Cut at 4 1/2”.

First mock-up.

The squares turned for the opposite look.

A mock-up center. I’m not sure, I think I’ll keep looking for something else.

Press HST’s toward the center.

I found a center I liked. I chain stitched side rails on each side and pressed the center seams toward the rails.

Sew three rows together.

Press seams toward the centers. I tend to look at my triangles and press them flat for less bulk.

Proverbs 30:33 For the churning of milk brings forth butter, and the wringing of the nose brings forth blood, so the forcing of wrath brings forth strife.

The Churn Dash is a very old 9-Patch quilt block pattern, originating between 1800 and 1849. Its name is a result of the resemblance of the triangle and rectangle perimeter of the block to a butter churn and the center square to the stick (or “dash”) of the butter churn.  

With only a few elements--triangles, rectangles, and squares-- the Churn Dash was  frequently one of the first patterns learned by young girls. In spite of its simplicity, it also provides a challenge for advanced quilters because it lends itself well to very intricate designs.

This particular variation of the pattern has gone by a multitude of names, including Broken Plate, Double Monkey Wrench, Double T (published in Hearth & Home), Dragon's Head (published in Woman's World), Fisherman's Reel, Hens and Chickens, Hole in the Barn Door, Indian Hammer, Joan's Doll Quilt, Lincoln's Platform, Love Knot, Ludlow's Favorite, Old Mill Design (published in the The Farmer's Wife), Picture Frame, Puss in the Corner, Quail's Nest, Sherman's March (published in Capper's Weekly), Shoo Fly, and Wrench.

When called, ‘Hole in the Barn Door,’ this square is said to be a clue for a safe place for runaway slaves in the Underground Railroad to rest.

I was a little obsessed with my Monkey Wrenches!! I alternated squares and randomly lined them up. Well, random in that I just made sure I didn’t place same colors together.

My Monkey Wrench or Churn Dash, is looking great!! I think I’ll take it to ‘Sew & Tell.’

Find blogs you’ve missed right here.

COPYRIGHT © Jeanne Bugbee and The Lord Supplies, The Nose Bump Blog, 2017 to date.  Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this site’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited.  Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Jeanne Bugbee, The Lord Supplies and The Nose Bump Blog.  The Nose Bump blog with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Published by

TheNoseBump

This blog is designed to help others that may be going through the same 'nose bump' or basal cell carcinoma, that I am going through and provide inspiration along the way.

Leave a comment