Equidistant

Today when I arrived at the log home, the kids were installing Ash’s shower.

The shower was causing a lot of problems.

I asked what was causing all the shower problems and M showed me the directions. The booklet was mainly all pictures. It also showed all models in one picture, so if your shower didn’t have water jets, they were shown anyway, making for a lot of confusion. Another problem was, it wasn’t in order of steps for what needed to be done first.

Aust came in and also asked what the problem was and added, “just watch a YouTube video.”

You probably can see R&M watching the video above. After watching the video, it went together quite well. Thanks Aust, you saved the day!!

While the kids were watching how-to shower videos, Pae was putting a light up in the hallway.

Lunch time. On the menu today, Chicken Fajitas, Grilled Pineapple and Grilled Pineapple Mango Salsa. The Pineapple Mango Salsa has jalapeños in it so it had a little bite to it. Aust still doesn’t care too much for any ‘new’ dishes, so he had some ice cream.

Back to work after lunch. Putting the roof on the shower, the wheels on the doors and door stops.

Aust watching his YouTube’s.

Moving on to Abby’s shower. Better directions this time, pictures and words.

Aust and Maverick getting comfortable.

Time for some ‘goes-in-tas.’ How far apart are nine equidistant holes?

Nine drill holes measured and drilled.

Double checking the directions. Another productive day.

Genesis 1:29 “I give you every seed-bearing plant on the face of the whole earth and every tree that has fruit with seed in it. They will be yours for food.”

Since we liked the grilled peaches, I thought I’d try grilled pineapple. I decided to make some grilled pineapple slices and then I found this grilled pineapple mango salsa recipe and thought it might be good with chicken fajitas.

Grilled Pineapple Mango Salsa

  • 3 slices fresh pineapple 
  • 1 red bell pepper 
  • 1 jalapeno pepper 
  • 2 large mangos – peeled, seeded, and diced 
  • 1 small red onion, diced 
  • ¼ cup chopped cilantro 
  • 1 lime, juiced 
  • ½ teaspoon lime zest

First the pineapple. I dug out my electric knife and peeled the pineapple. Way easier than my chef’s knife. Next the slices. Then I grilled it about 5-minutes on each side. Instead of trying to cut a nice round hole in the middle, I cut on each side, east and west, then north and south around the core.

  • Step 1 Preheat an outdoor grill for medium-high heat; lightly oil the grate.
  • Step 2 Cook the pineapple, red bell pepper, and jalapeno pepper on the preheated grill, turning frequently, until the pineapple has mild grill marks and the peppers are browned on all sides, about 3 minutes for pineapple and 5 to 7 minutes for peppers. Carefully remove from grill and place peppers in paper bag to cool.
  • Step 3 After peppers are cool, rub skins off gently with paper towels, cut in half, and remove and discard seeds. Cut the cooled pineapple and peppers into a small dice and place into a bowl. Add the mango, red onion, cilantro, lime juice, and lime zest; stir to combine. Cover the bowl with plastic wrap and refrigerate for 8 hours to 1 day before serving.

Mark 10:27 With man this is impossible, but not with God; all things are possible with God.

The mango was a little more difficult. During my fruits and vegetables units when I was teaching Home Economics, I don’t remember showing students mangoes. I thought they would be like avadacos, so I googled it to see how I should cut and peel it. The first one I did came out like the googled explanation. Cutting it in the skin-shell and inverting it. My dices came out quite well. Equidistant!! The other one, I couldn’t seem to get the half fruit off the pit. I ended up using my electric knife to cut the fruit off and then dice and peel as best I could.

Roasting the peppers was easier because it’s how I roast my peppers when I make my Five-X Salsa. I left the seeds and veins on the jalapeños so it’s probably going to be a little on the hot side.

Adding all the goodies as I grilled, roasted and chopped. I left out the cilantro because I don’t care for it too much. I’m one of those people that find cilantro tastes like soap. Cilantro contains a natural chemical compound, called an aldehyde, that can taste unpleasant to some people.  Aldehydes are compounds that are also produced in the soap making process.

Another beautiful day.

See what you’ve been missing.

COPYRIGHT © Jeanne Bugbee and The Lord Supplies, The Nose Bump Blog, 2017 to date.  Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this site’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited.  Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Jeanne Bugbee, The Lord Supplies and The Nose Bump Blog.  The Nose Bump blog with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Published by

TheNoseBump

This blog is designed to help others that may be going through the same 'nose bump' or basal cell carcinoma, that I am going through and provide inspiration along the way.

Leave a comment