BeeBee8

Today when I arrived at the log home, Ash was showing me his desk, game controls and supper table. I’m not so sure about it being a supper table.

Ash got out his lego kits. BeeBee8, Chewbacca and Ship-in-a-Bottle are the only ones I remembered the name.

Oh that Maverick!! He managed to hit the Ship-in-a-Bottle and it fell apart. Ash put it back together in no time. Maverick looking a little guilty.

The girls.

Aust playing his games.


Lunch time. On the menu today, Sausage Tortellini and Berry Cobbler.

Have wood will travel.

Ash helping move his shower into his room.

Mock-up in Abby’s room.

Colossians 3:23 Whatever you do, work heartily, as for the Lord and not for men,

Laundry room floor was grouted earlier in the day.

Motorcycle Alley.

Sausage Tortellini Bake

I found this Sausage Tortellini Bake recipe and thought it looked summery. I tend to keep the heavier sauces for fall and winter dishes. I used both sweet and hot sausages. I usually freeze them so they cut better. I don’t know if that’s the way everyone else cooks them, but I find it the easiest.

I did a couple other changes too, one being to swap out the green pepper for fresh spinach. The tortellini only needed to cook about five minutes so I put the spinach in with it.

The other thing I did was to omit the marinara sauce to keep it a little lighter and summery.

Next I put it all in the crockpot casserole dish and baked in the oven 30-minutes or so. The last 10-minutes I ‘pre-heated’ the crockpot container so it was hot when I put the casserole in it for transport.

Ingredients

  • 1 pound bulk Italian sausage (I used sweet and hot)
  • 1 onion, chopped 
  • 1 green bell pepper, chopped (I used fresh spinach)
  • 1 (24 ounce) jar marinara sauce (I omitted for a lighter dish)
  • 1 (14 ounce) can Italian-style diced tomatoes 
  • 1 teaspoon garlic powder 
  • 1 teaspoon onion powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon sweet basil
  • 1 (9 ounce) package frozen cheese-filled tortellini 
  • 2 cups shredded mozzarella cheese

Directions

Step 1 – Heat a large pot over medium heat. Crumble sausage into the saucepan; add onion and green bell pepper. Cook and stir the sausage mixture until the sausage is completely browned, 7 to 10 minutes. Drain grease.

Step 2 – Pour marinara sauce and diced tomatoes over the sausage mixture; season with garlic powder and stir. Bring the mixture to a simmer, reduce heat to medium-low, and cook at a simmer until the diced tomatoes break down into the sauce, 30 to 45 minutes.

Step 3 – Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.

Step 4 – Bring a large pot of lightly salted water to a boil. Cook the frozen tortellini at a boil until they float to the top and the filling is hot, 6 to 7 minutes; drain.

Step 5 – Gently fold the cooked tortellini into the simmering sauce; cook together another 5 minutes. Pour tortellini and sauce into a 13×9-inch baking dish; top with mozzarella cheese.

Step 6 – Bake in preheated oven until cheese is golden brown, 20 to 30 minutes.


Next up, Berry Cobbler.

Lately I’ve found some of these recipes that use box mixes. Of course FB helps, posting something that says, ‘here’s something you might like.’ This one was actually just about the same as the Hot Fudge Cake recipe I made recently. It called for a white cake mix, my friend Betty Crocker, was all sold out of mixes, so I picked up one from the competition, Duncan Hines.

Berry Cobbler

Two 12-oz bags frozen mixed berries

1 box white cake mix (no pudding)

1 can of 7-up or club soda (clear soda)

Instructions:

Place frozen fruit in a 9×13 baking dish. Add dry cake mix over the top. Pour soda slowly over cake mix. DO NOT stir the cake mix and the soda – this will give you a ‘crust’. If you stir the two, you will have a cake-like topping. (I added a 1/4 cup extra water, but actually I think I should have used 2 cans of club soda. Even though you don’t mix the liquid with the dry ingredients, I think the liquid should just cover the dry. Otherwise as it cooks, the dry ingredients just stay dry, it doesn’t become ‘crumble like’.)

Bake 350 for 45-50 min.

You may be able to use frozen peaches instead of mixed berries.

Serve warm with whipped cream or ice cream.

Serves 16


The day ended where it began. In Ash’s room and now his Ship-in-a-Bottle is on display.

Another productive day. A little rain on the highway as I headed home.

A little overcast today.

Keep up with the blog. Like and share with your friends.

COPYRIGHT © Jeanne Bugbee and The Lord Supplies, The Nose Bump Blog, 2017 to date.  Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this site’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited.  Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Jeanne Bugbee, The Lord Supplies and The Nose Bump Blog.  The Nose Bump blog with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Published by

TheNoseBump

This blog is designed to help others that may be going through the same 'nose bump' or basal cell carcinoma, that I am going through and provide inspiration along the way.

Leave a comment