Hot Fudge Cake

Spuddy

Welcome to Fort Fairfield and the Maine Potato Blossom Festival. This weekend is the beginning of our festival to celebrate the potato farming industry. There’s usually a lot going on; horseshoe tournament, tractor pulls and garden tours. Other events are potato picking, barrel rolling and beauty queen contests. This year they had a town wide garage sale. And can you believe it, I didn’t stop at one!?!? It all builds up to the big parade the third Saturday of July.

Psalm 121:5-6 The LORD watches over you—the LORD is your shade at your right hand; the sun will not harm you by day, nor the moon by night.

The beautiful potato field near my house.

When I arrived today, the kids were at a stopping point. Perfect time to break for lunch.

On the menu, Tacos and Hot Fudge Cake with Ice Cream. I brought some of my 5X Salsa, that’s five times hotter than most salsas I buy. It’s a recipe I’ve been making since one of my exchange students gave it to me. I also brought a store bought medium and mild, just in case.

The bathroom floors that were tiled yesterday, were grouted earlier in the day. Don’t they look great?

Back to work after lunch. Moving everything out of the laundry area for the flooring to go down.

Pae putting a light up in the hallway.

Three of these small bulbs go in the light.

Tile mock-up for the laundry area. Maverick likes it already.

Aust was engrossed with his game and suddenly he discovered the ice cream. He didn’t want any of the Hot Fudge Cake with it though.

They decided to swap out the light over the sink after finding another one they liked better. Working on both sides of the wall.

Abby made some S’more Balls. They are similar to a peanut butter ball, but like a S’more with graham crackers, mini marshmallows and mini chocolate chips.

“There’s a lot of dust up here.”

Hot Fudge Cake

I found a new recipe that looked quite delicious so I decided to try it this week. It’s a Home Economics teacher’s dream science project. When I was in college, in my chemistry class we made a cake from soap. I don’t remember all the details now, but basically we used the same chemicals to make soap as we did to make cake. Anyway, this recipe reminded me of it because of the way you put the ingredients in, somehow the cake starts out on the bottom and then cooks on top and makes a hot fudge sauce on the bottom.

This is an 8” x 8” recipe so I doubled it for the hard working crew.

Hot Fudge Cake

  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 6 tablespoons baking cocoa, divided
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup 2% milk
  • 2 tablespoons oil
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1-3/4 cups hot water
  • Ice cream or whipped cream, optional

Directions

  • Preheat oven to 350°. In a large bowl, whisk flour, sugar, 3 tablespoons cocoa, baking powder and salt. In another bowl, whisk milk, oil and vanilla until blended. Add to flour mixture; stir just until moistened.
  • Transfer to an ungreased 9-in. square baking pan. In a small bowl, mix brown sugar and remaining cocoa; sprinkle over batter. Pour hot water over all; do not stir. 
  • Bake 35-40 minutes. Serve warm. If desired, top with ice cream.

Smells delicious!!

Oops!!

I had a near disaster. As I was going over to the house, I stopped at the stop sign and the cake went flying to the floor!! I actually stayed stopped in the middle of the road to rescue it. Good thing I don’t have a lot of traffic on my road. I already could envision hot fudge sauce all over the backseat.

I didn’t even look to see how the cake was. I just put it in the trunk, propped up by a bag of returnables and my soccer game bag. It should be okay now?!! As you can see, the one corner was messed up. Mainly just some of the hot fudge sauce is what spilled out. The remaining cake and sauce was awesome.

Thanks Pae for cleaning up hot fudge sauce from the floor!! I thought I’d probably have to get a new car!!

I was in a traffic jam as I left.

Psalm 109:27 Let them know that it is your hand, that you, LORD, have done it.

Another productive day.

Thanks for reading the blog!! Like and share with your friends.

COPYRIGHT © Jeanne Bugbee and The Lord Supplies, The Nose Bump Blog, 2017 to date.  Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this site’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited.  Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Jeanne Bugbee, The Lord Supplies and The Nose Bump Blog.  The Nose Bump blog with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Published by

TheNoseBump

This blog is designed to help others that may be going through the same 'nose bump' or basal cell carcinoma, that I am going through and provide inspiration along the way.

Leave a comment