Old Dishes & Old Friends

Recently my friend texted me that she had a drawer of old dishes and thought they reminded her of me, the old friend!?! Her aunt was moving and if I didn’t want them, they were going to the dump.

The first thing I saw when I moved the protective towel was this beautiful teacup. Later, the saucer was also there.

Next, another teacup with some faces. Queen Elizabeth and her Prince Charming, Philip. These were commemorative pieces that would have been in gift shops for the Royal Visit.

Royal Visit 1959, probably the aunt went locally like New Brunswick.

Actually I googled it and the Queen and Prince Philip did a 45-day tour of all the Canadian Provinces and Territories. There were several parades, speaking events and they even attended the Calgary Stampede. There was probably lots of curtsying and tea partying too.

Another treasure was this lovely sugar and creamer with thistle pattern.

A transfer-ware sugar bowl.

Pickle dish. Which by the way, there’s a great pickle dish quilt pattern based on this dish. Now I have another quilt idea. Like I need more ideas right?!!?

What do we have here? To the untrained eye, one might think another smaller pickle dish.

It’s actually an ashtray. It might be my new screwdriver tray.

Another square pickle dish. I think it’s called pressed glass.

A medium size pitcher.

A small hand painted German creamer.

A depression glass luncheon plate. The pattern is sunflower.

I think this is one of what was probably a set of berry dishes.

Next up, a lovely gold trimmed butterfly pickle dish. I put some nuts and bolts in one side and my tools for braiding rugs on the other side. Later I googled it and someone had listed their butterfly dish as one for nuts, bolts and trinkets!! I thought they saw mine!!

A vinegar cruet. With the stopper. Bonus!! I love vinegar, even better in a cruet.

A medium size cut glass serving bowl.

Friendly Village luncheon plate, The Stone Wall.

Friendly Village dinnerware lists the name of the pattern on the back of the piece.

Thank you my old friend for thinking about me as you wondered about what to do with these old dishes. I love them!!

Proverbs 27:9 The sweet smell of perfume and oils is pleasant, and so is good advice from a friend.

We aren’t really that old!!

Had a busy summer? Relax and catch up with the blog.

COPYRIGHT © Jeanne Bugbee and The Lord Supplies, The Nose Bump Blog, 2017 to date.  Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this site’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited.  Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Jeanne Bugbee, The Lord Supplies and The Nose Bump Blog.  The Nose Bump blog with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Published by

TheNoseBump

This blog is designed to help others that may be going through the same 'nose bump' or basal cell carcinoma, that I am going through and provide inspiration along the way.

Leave a comment