Bargello

I started this page, then changed my mind, then went back to it sew there’s a couple things I wrote about recently, but didn’t want to edit out for new followers.

We now have added, ‘Sew Days,’ to our Guild meeting schedule. Sew Days begin at 9:00 and go until the regular meeting at 1:00. You bring your own sewing machine, tools, project and sew away. Occasionally they sew on a group project, like the quilt raffle. Sometimes someone will teach a class. Today, a member was teaching the Bargello quilt. I decided to participate in the Bargello quilt.

I had missed the last two meetings because of all the ice in my driveway and not wanting to fall again. Sew, I didn’t know about the project until the minutes came out. One item in the minutes was about the Bargello and some home-sew-work. It listed amounts of fabric needed and some strips sets to cut, sew and press before class.

I had been sewing some after my fall, but my wrist was causing problems when I needed to cut strips. I had created the forearm hold to put enough pressure on my cutting tools to cut.

Today though, after PT, I tried putting pressure on my wrist/hand to do my strip cutting. It worked quite well without too much pain. It’s not 100%, but improving.

In the past I’ve posted about the store cuts. They rarely are cut straight. Here I lost almost 2” on one end.

For this Bargello, we need three-strip sets of 12-colors and one focus fabric. I had my dozen all selected, but at the house under more natural lighting, I didn’t like about three of them.


After getting about eight other fabrics to match, I still wasn’t overly pleased with about four of them. I eliminated the worst four and used the remaining four.

I finished cutting and made the three piles of the twelve strips. After a couple more PT sessions, the cutting was almost back to normal. Yeahhh!!!

Ready to sew. First time back at my machine in about a month.

Nice to see my pin cushion on my wrist instead of the brace!!

Sew, I double checked and packed my ‘have sewing machine will travel,’ with the Bargello project.


A bigger quilted bag to keep everything from flying around.

At the Guild for sew day, I set up and worked on sewing my three sets of 12-strips together.

I had to walk around and see what everyone was making. Here’s another Bargello.

Next, a Postage Stamp quilt. The cuts are 1 1/2” squares that finish at 1”. Two rows completed. It’s going to be a queen size quilt.

Two more projects.

Another Bargello.

Next up, a couple members laid out a mock-up of the Guild quilt raffle. It’s a Christmas Star pattern. Each member makes a square and then another sew day to finish sewing the rows together. We are waiting for a couple more star squares to come in. A few members will finish longarm quilting and binding it. Then we will start selling the raffle tickets.

As part of the business meeting, someone usually does a demonstration. Today’s demo was on paper piecing.

After the demo, the drawings for the quilting gambling, I won a bundle of fat quarters.

Exodus 35:25 All the skilled and talented women spun thread with their hands, and brought what they had spun, blue and purple and scarlet fabric and fine linen.

The meeting ends with ‘Sew & Tell.’ You’ll notice there are two more of the Bargello quilts that members made. Don’t you just love the dog that one lady added to her quilt? One is a Yo-Yo quilt, that the lady has made several for each of her grandchildren.

Everyone is sooo talented in the Quilt Guild!! They have wonderful projects and ideas, I want to add each quilt design to my ‘to-do’ list.

Find out what you’ve been missing right here.

COPYRIGHT © Jeanne Bugbee and The Lord Supplies, The Nose Bump Blog, 2017 to date.  Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this site’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited.  Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Jeanne Bugbee, The Lord Supplies and The Nose Bump Blog.  The Nose Bump blog with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Published by

TheNoseBump

This blog is designed to help others that may be going through the same 'nose bump' or basal cell carcinoma, that I am going through and provide inspiration along the way.

Leave a comment