The Eagle Eyes

Sew, I asked followers the other day what you thought about this eagle panel I found. After I got it home, I opened it up and hung it on my quilt hanger Aust made me. I wanted to look at it and decide what colors I wanted to use to ‘frame’ it.

For some reason, I didn’t really like this shade of blue very much. In any other project I tend to like turquoise.

Sew, I decided to look in my stash of fabric for navy’s, white’s and brown’s. I had some goldish/mustard that I thought would highlight the feet and beak.

I also had some snowflakes that I decided were perfect with the snow capped covered mountains.

The red kind of bothered me too. And I LOVE red. This red was sort of pink. Maybe orange. Or peach. Perhaps faded red? It was annoying me. But, with the brown dots I had, I thought it would be fine.

Then, like I always say, ‘whatever you need, you already have,’ I pulled this reddish piece from my stash. It seemed to have the pinkish and peachish that the flag had, so it would blend nicely.

I still needed some navy and turquoise sew I put it on my shopping list.


It was time for my union ordered coffee break and when I sat down to enjoy it, this guy was starring at me!!! Do you see him? Hiding in the forest?

Is this better?

I looked a little closer. Two more weirdo’s with beady eyes planted in the trees.

I didn’t like the panel anymore.

I thought maybe I needed to get my eyes checked. Maybe I was seeing things.

I sent the same picture to a friend asking, ‘what do you see?’

Oh my goodness!! She wrote back with four or five other things that I hadn’t seen!! A bear. Or an elephant depending on the angle. And maybe a cow.

Another eagle behind a wolf.

Another face and maybe a mountain goat.


Two groups of people. A couple more faces or animals?

A couple dogs.

And now as I’m folding the panel, I’m seeing a duck with a bill.

The more I look at it, the less I like it. I think I’ll put my stash of fabrics away and save them for something else.

Or ponder the optical illusion a little more.


Maybe I’ll visit their website and see if there’s any information available about The Height of Freedom panel.

2 Corinthians 4:18 while we look not at the things which are seen, but at the things which are not seen; for the things which are seen are temporal, but the things which are not seen are eternal.

Catch up on all you’ve missed.

COPYRIGHT © Jeanne Bugbee and The Lord Supplies, The Nose Bump Blog, 2017 to date.  Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this site’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited.  Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Jeanne Bugbee, The Lord Supplies and The Nose Bump Blog.  The Nose Bump blog with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Published by

TheNoseBump

This blog is designed to help others that may be going through the same 'nose bump' or basal cell carcinoma, that I am going through and provide inspiration along the way.

Leave a comment