Spangled Stars

Today I started a new table runner. After all the Fourth of July is just around the corner. I thought hourglass squares might work and started with half square triangles.

A stack of hourglasses.

Trims from squaring up.

Trimmed, stacked and ready to sew.

Backing, batting and top together and ready to machine quilt.


I use my painters tape to line up my points for machine quilting.

Do you see it? My stars are camouflaged into the stars.

Maybe this is better to see. Sometimes I use the same fabric for the backing and binding. Here, I’m adding the binding to the back of the runner first.


Next, turn the binding to the right side and topstitch about 1/16” all around. I moved the needle to the right and use the center of the foot as a guide. These clips are great for bindings.

Psalm 33:12  Blessed is the nation whose God is the LORD; and the people whom he hath chosen for his own inheritance

Happy Independence Day!!

Find your summer reading right here.

COPYRIGHT © Jeanne Bugbee and The Lord Supplies, The Nose Bump Blog, 2017 to date.  Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this site’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited.  Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Jeanne Bugbee, The Lord Supplies and The Nose Bump Blog.  The Nose Bump blog with appropriate and specific direction to the original content. *Addendum to my copyright, I don’t have a say in what wordpress is advertising at the bottom of my blog pages, so it appears that it is something I support, which I may or may not.

Published by

TheNoseBump

This blog is designed to help others that may be going through the same 'nose bump' or basal cell carcinoma, that I am going through and provide inspiration along the way.

One thought on “Spangled Stars”

Leave a comment