Steak’yumms

Flooring lined up and ready to go.

Meet Maverick. He does stairs. Another beautiful sunny day, about 75° out.

When I arrived today, the kids had about 6-8 rows of flooring down in the daycare.

Aust was making something like a Murphy bed. It might need a better balancing system.

A light going in above the sink.

A dog and his man, he’s usually nearby. About five more rows done before lunch.

Lupine bouquet.

Aust didn’t want a Steak’yumm, so M warmed up a can of Spaghetti-O’s for him on the new stove.

Time for lunch. Today’s menu, Steak’yumms on a Bulky Roll, Guacamole and Tortilla Chips, and Oreo Cookie Cake.

Goodies in the fridge already.

Aust was going to swiffer his bedroom floor.

Then Aust didn’t want the pup on his newly swiffered floor so he gave him to me. I tried to get a selfie of us.

The trash can and returnable bin already set up.

One piece shower tub.

Watching the moose lottery names being read. It began at 1:00 and was scheduled to end at 6:00. None of our names were called while I watched, but a couple of my former students got a permit. I’ll have to check the list later.


The floor was about 3/4’s done as I was leaving. Some of the needed work supplies were being moved to the other side.

The not-so-needed stuff was moved out to go down cellar and scrap wood going to camp.

I renamed these Steak’yumms and this was the basic recipe I used. First I sautéed a sweet red and yellow pepper and a sweet onion. Next, I used a couple pounds of deli sliced roast beef that I put on top of the vegetables and cooked a couple minutes. Then transferred to the crockpot. It smelled so good, I didn’t bother to add the Worcestershire sauce, smoked liquid and Italian seasoning, I don’t think it needed it. I didn’t toast the rolls in the oven either, but could have now that the stove is plugged in.

Ultimate Steak Sandwiches

  • 4 hard rolls, split 
  • ½ cup mayonnaise 
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced 
  • 1 tablespoon Parmesan cheese 
  • 3 tablespoons olive oil 
  • 2 pounds round steak, thinly sliced 
  • 1 large onion, sliced and quartered 
  • 1 pinch coarse sea salt 
  • ½ teaspoon Worcestershire sauce 
  • ⅛ teaspoon liquid smoke 
  • 8 (1 ounce) slices provolone cheese 
  • ½ teaspoon Italian seasoning

    Directions
  • Step 1 Preheat an oven to 500 degrees F. Split the rolls open and toast them on a baking sheet in the oven while it is preheating. Mix together the mayonnaise, garlic, and Parmesan cheese in a small bowl. Refrigerate until ready to use. Remove the rolls from the oven when toasted as desired.
  • Step 2 Heat olive oil in a large skillet over medium-high heat. Carefully place the sliced steak and onions in the pan and season with sea salt, Worcestershire sauce, and liquid smoke. Cook and stir until the steak is browned and the onion is tender, about 10 minutes.
  • Step 3 Generously spread the prepared garlic-Parmesan mayonnaise on both halves of the toasted rolls. Divide the steak and onion mixture evenly among the bottom halves of the rolls, piling them high. Top each with 2 slices provolone cheese and sprinkle with Italian seasoning. Place the tops on the sandwiches.
  • Step 4 Bake the sandwiches on a baking sheet in the preheated oven until the cheese is melted, about 5 minutes.

Oreo Cookie Cake

Another FB recipe I’ve seen a few times and it finally came up in the rotation. The recipe is for cupcakes, but in an effort to save time, I made it as a cake. My friend Betty makes an appearance.

  • 1 box of chocolate cake mix
  • 4 oz. semi-sweet baking chocolate, chopped (it’s 4 squares)
  • 1/3 cup whipping cream
  • 1 (8oz/250g) package cream cheese softened
  • 6 tablespoons butter, softened
  • 2 tablespoons milk
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 2 cups powdered sugar
  • 10 Oreo cookies, finely chopped
  • Mini Oreo Cookies, to garnish

Directions

  1. Prepare cake batter and bake as directed on package for 24 cupcakes; cool completely. (I used my 10”x15” cookie sheet.)
  2. Microwave semi-sweet chocolate and whipping cream in a small bowl for 1 to 1 1/2 minutes or until chocolate is completely melted and mixture is well blended, stirring after 1 minute. Dip tops of cupcakes in chocolate glaze. Refrigerate for 10 minutes or until firm. (I omitted the glaze.)
  3. Beat cream cheese and butter in a large bowl with mixer until well blended. Add milk and vanilla; mix well. Beat in powdered sugar until well blended. Stir in chopped cookies.
  4. Spread tops of cupcakes with cream cheese frosting. (I frosted the cake while still warm like my other sheet cake recipes.) Top with mini Oreo cookies.

I might have to rename this to Oreo Yumms Cake.

For my Guacamole, I used one ripe avocado, mashed with a fork and about two tablespoons of lemon juice mixed in to prevent oxidation. Next, about 3-6 cloves of garlic (depending on the size) minced to give it a nice bite. Finally I added one jar of my salsa that I made last fall, or one cup if readymade.

Here’s the link to my Salsa Verde recipe, not the same as I used for this batch of Guacamole, but I have used it in the past. It’s all delicious!!

He’s all tired out after another productive day all around.

My moose hiding under my maples. I checked the list, we didn’t win the lottery.

Acts 20:35 I have shown you in every way, by laboring like this, that you must support the weak. And remember the words of the Lord Jesus, that He said, ‘It is more blessed to give than to receive.’

COVID-19 updates.

Looking for something to read this summer? Look no further.

COPYRIGHT © Jeanne Bugbee and The Lord Supplies, The Nose Bump Blog, 2017 to date.  Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this site’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited.  Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Jeanne Bugbee, The Lord Supplies and The Nose Bump Blog.  The Nose Bump blog with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Published by

TheNoseBump

This blog is designed to help others that may be going through the same 'nose bump' or basal cell carcinoma, that I am going through and provide inspiration along the way.

Leave a comment