Blueberry Streusel Muffins

Don’t you just love how FB knows what you’re thinking before you do? Again the other day I was thinking about making blueberry muffins when this recipe for Blueberry Streusel Muffins came up. It was a little, well actually a lot, different than my recipe so I decided to try it.

They have streusel and cream cheese filling. They also have a confectionery sugar glaze, but I didn’t bother with the glaze.

Yield: 6 muffins.

Blueberry Streusel Muffins


Streusel Crumb Topping:

My crumble
  • 2/3 cup all-purpose flour (I used Graham cracker crumbs)
  • 1/3 cup light brown sugar
  • ¼ teaspoon salt (I omitted since my butter is salted)
  • ¼ cup unsalted butter-melted

Blueberry Muffins:

My fancy, high tech, sifter. Lately I’ve been using my mixer to ‘sift’ my dry ingredients together. My exception is when I need to cream together butter and sugars. Even then, I suppose I could do my dry ingredients first, before my beaters get wet or liquid ingredients on them. Of course then I need a second bowl and typically I’ll stick with one bowl. This recipe, calls for six, yes six bowls!!

  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • ¼ teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • ¼ cup vegetable oil
  • ½ cup granulated sugar
  • 1 large egg
  • ½ teaspoon vanilla
  • ½ cup Greek yogurt
  • 1 ½ cup fresh blueberries (half goes in batter and half for topping)
  • 1 Tablespoon flour to toss the blueberries

Cream Cheese Filling:

  • 6 oz. cream cheese-room temperature
  • 3 Tablespoons granulated sugar
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1 teaspoon corn starch

Glaze:

  • ¾ cup powdered sugar
  • 1 ½ –2 ½ teaspoons milk or creme
Ready for the oven


Instructions

  1. Preheat the oven to 425 F, line muffin tin with paper liners ad set aside. This recipe makes 9-10 muffins.
  2. Divide blueberries in half. Toss ¾ cup of blueberries with 1 Tablespoon flour. Reserve remaining ¾ cup of blueberries for topping. Set them aside. (Bowl #1)
  3. To make the crumb topping, stir together flour, sugar, and salt. Add melted butter and whisk with a fork until coarse crumbs form. Set aside. (Bowl #2)
  4. To make the muffins in a large bowl stir together flour, baking powder, and salt and set aside. (Bowl #3)
  5. In a medium bowl, whisk together egg and granulated sugar until combined. Whisk in yogurt, oil, and vanilla extract. (Bowl #4)
  6. Add dry ingredients into wet ingredients and mix everything together by hand.
  7. Finally, using a rubber spatula, fold in blueberries (3/4 cup blueberries tossed with 1 Tablespoon flour). Reserve ¾ cup blueberries for topping.
  8. To make the cream cheese filling, mix softened cream cheese, sugar, corn starch, and vanilla just to combine. (Bowl #5)
  9. To assemble the muffins, add about 1 ½ Tablespoon of muffin mixture to each cup. Using a spoon spread the mixture up the side of paper liners to make the small dent in the center. Drop 1 not quite a full Tablespoon of cream cheese mixture in the center of each muffin, filling each cup about 2/3 to ¾ full.
  10. Add a few blueberries on top, then generously top each muffin with streusel crumbs. Add a few more blueberries on top and gently press the crumbs to stick to the muffin batter.
  11. Place in preheated oven and reduce the temperature to 350 F. Bake 22-25 minutes, or until the tops are golden brown and the center has set.
  12. Cool 5-10 minutes in the pan, then transfer the muffins on a rack to cool completely.
  13. Meanwhile, prepare the glaze. Stir powdered sugar with milk or cream. Start with 1 teaspoon of the liquid and gradually add more until desired consistency has reached. Drizzle over muffins and serve. (Bowl #6)

Do you have Emeril’s smell-a-vision? They smell delicious!! Although they don’t look browned, they were in the oven 35-40 minutes before they were golden.

Isaiah 65:17 “For behold, I create new heavens and a new earth; And the former things will not be remembered or come to mind.

They were excellent!! Using six bowls though, I doubt I’ll make them often.

See what you’ve missed.

COPYRIGHT © Jeanne Bugbee and The Lord Supplies, The Nose Bump Blog, 2017 to date.  Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this site’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited.  Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Jeanne Bugbee, The Lord Supplies and The Nose Bump Blog.  The Nose Bump blog with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Published by

TheNoseBump

This blog is designed to help others that may be going through the same 'nose bump' or basal cell carcinoma, that I am going through and provide inspiration along the way.

Leave a comment