Another Garage Sale

Proverbs 20:14 The customer always complains that the price is too high, but then he goes off and brags about the bargain he got.

There were so many garage sales going on and with all my recent finds, I wanted to stop at all of them.

The next yard sale I went to was a friend I used to work with before funding ended the programs. She had posted on FB the sale and a few items. One item was pretty general and just what I like, ‘antiques.’ I left early and headed north.

It was a beautiful ride with the leaves changing colors and blue skies above. I arrived at my friends yard sale and we exchanged maskless hugs. A bit of of no-no since we are still sort of in the coronavirus pandemic. We were outside and mostly six feet apart so I’m pretty sure all is well. I’m not going to allow fear to come between me and a good garage sale!!

One thing I noticed was this sweet wheat sewing basket. My friend pointed out a couple flaws in the bottom, but the flaws didn’t bother me.

This was another item that caught my eye. Do you know what it is? It’s an old towel rack. I have one and remember my grandmother had one that as I recall was in the pantry. A bargain for $8.00.

Jeremiah 5:24
‘They do not say in their heart,
“Let us now fear the Lord our God,
Who gives rain in its season,
Both the autumn rain and the spring rain,
Who keeps for us
The appointed weeks of the harvest.”

On the road again … I had to stop and get a picture of potato harvest and this wind rower. We’ve been in a severe drought this summer and it’s exemplified by all the dust.

After leaving my friends yard sale, I saw another sign and decided to stop. I picked up these two necklaces for a $1.00. They are kind of summery so I might have to wait until next summer to wear them. In the meantime, I might have a new use for my towel rack; I might re-purpose it into a necklace rack!!

Okay, get ready to be shocked. I have a little bit of an old iron collection. I know, it’s hard to believe!!, especially at a time when no one irons anything anymore. I suppose most of those same people don’t even know what an iron is!! I’ve always liked to iron and pretty much still iron most of my outfits today. And of course, do a lot of pressing when I’m quilting.

Anyway, I love the history of them and often think about my grandmother using the irons they heated on the wood stove. I’m thinking I probably would have burned more than I would have pressed if I had to use them.

This find was what I think they called a salesman’s model because it’s smaller. I think it was another steal at $2.00!!

Proverbs 27:9 “Oil and perfume make the heart glad, and the sweetness of a friend comes from his earnest counsel” 


Covid-19 updates.

Looking for more nose bump blog pages to read in your spare time? Just scroll through the links above, click on it and enjoy. And please share with your friends.

COPYRIGHT © Jeanne Bugbee and The Lord Supplies, The Nose Bump Blog, 2017 to date.  Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this site’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited.  Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Jeanne Bugbee, The Lord Supplies and The Nose Bump Blog.  The Nose Bump blog with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Published by

TheNoseBump

This blog is designed to help others that may be going through the same 'nose bump' or basal cell carcinoma, that I am going through and provide inspiration along the way.

Leave a comment