Up the Down Staircase

Another beautiful sunny, 36° day in The County for a ride over to see the log home.

When I arrived they were discussing the staircase.

Today I set up lunch on the trailer.

Another favorite, Mac & Cheese. The real Mac & Cheese. I’ve heard sometimes it comes in a box? Can that be true?!?

Sitting or standing, yummy either way.

These shorter pieces are for the eaves. I hadn’t noticed, I thought they went the whole length.

A valley that wasn’t finished the other day.

A little muddy, isn’t that what makes it fun?!!

Moving a large rock.

The neighbors.

Ephesians 4:2 Be completely humble and gentle; be patient, bearing with one another in love.

I almost forgot the dessert in the car. Oh no!! A rookie mistake!! I made these Oatmeal Whoopie Pies that I’ve seen the recipe shared on FB a lot lately.

Oatmeal Whoopie Pies

Ingredients

2 cups brown sugar, packed 

34 cup butter or shortening, softened 

2 large eggs

12 teaspoon salt

2 – 2 1/2 cups flour

2 cups old fashioned rolled oats

1 teaspoon cinnamon

1 teaspoon baking powder

1 teaspoon baking soda, dissolved (in water below)

3 tablespoons boiling water

Filling

1 egg white, beaten stiff

1 tablespoon vanilla

2 tablespoons milk

2 cups powdered sugar

14 cup vegetable shortening *

DIRECTIONS

  • For oatmeal cookie mixture — cream butter, sugar and eggs.
  • Sift together flour, salt and baking powder and add to creamed mixture. 
  • Add cinnamon and oatmeal. 
  • Mix well. Add soda to hot water and add to batter — mix well.
  • Drop by tablespoonful onto greased cookie sheet; 
  • Bake 8 – 10 min in 350° oven.
  • For filling, beat egg white until stiff, add vanilla, milk and 1 cup of powdered sugar.  Cream well, beat in mixing bowl about 10 minutes.
  • Add rest of ingredients and beat an additional 2-3 minutes. 
  • Size-up the cookies. Put filling between 2 cookies.
  • Wrap each whoopie pie cookie in plastic wrap. (I like ziplock bags.)

If there’s any left, they freeze well to be brought out later.

My Note*: the recipe online had doubled the filling recipe (I had a lot of filling leftover) and I thought there was too much shortening. I ended up adding more confectionery sugar to compensate. It should be 1/4 cup shortening when using one egg white. Later I looked online to compare recipes and it was too much shortening compared to similar filling recipes.

When I was teaching I always told my foods classes to ‘know your cookie sheets.’ I used three different cookie sheets this day for the Whoopie Pies, and, I had three different baking times!! I would have had several Snubbers if I didn’t know my cookie sheets because one cookie sheet tends to burn cookies, or whatever I’m baking.

Even a couple burnt Snubbers were delicious!!

COVID-19 updates.

Past blogs to enjoy and share.

COPYRIGHT © Jeanne Bugbee and The Lord Supplies, The Nose Bump Blog, 2017 to date.  Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this site’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited.  Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Jeanne Bugbee, The Lord Supplies and The Nose Bump Blog.  The Nose Bump blog with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Published by

TheNoseBump

This blog is designed to help others that may be going through the same 'nose bump' or basal cell carcinoma, that I am going through and provide inspiration along the way.

Leave a comment