Dizzy Geese

Sew, I found a new quilt pattern I wanted to make. It’s called “Dizzy Geese.” It’s a version of Flying Geese or Wild Goose Chase and a Star square combination.

Pressing a goose.

My first gaggle of geese pressed. Thirty-six. I only need 142 more.

There’s a major problem with the Dizzy Geese pattern, for me anyway. There’s three pattern pieces that don’t line up with any of my cutting tools.

I dug out some plastic to trace the pattern. Fairly close. And cut them out.

They line up quite well. I should be able to use 4” strips.

I don’t really like using this kind of pattern because with every cut, it’s easy to trim off a sliver of plastic and the pattern gets smaller. I’m going to try to compensate by lining one of my other cutting tools on top of the plastic pattern.

This special size pattern is basically a different size flying goose unit, although it’s going to be the Star points. For the triangular cut, there’s a lot of waste, so I’ll cut a set of goose ‘wings’ or ‘sky’ and make opposite squares to use in another project. Maybe a table runner. Waste not want not.

Pressing. Typically you press toward the dark fabric, however the ‘goose’ naturally falls so the triangle is flat.

And it happened already!! My iron hit my newly cut pattern piece and sort of melted.

Beginning mock up of the Star square.

Center square-in-a-square added.

Corner triangles ready.

Some Dizzy Geese flying around and landing in place.

More geese added to the flock. Are you dizzy yet?

I have to cut the other ‘H’ pattern so the geese can fly in a circle, then another triangle to make it a square unit. I’m liking the mock up. It’s coming together quicker than I expected.

Sew, guess what? Out of curiosity I googled Dizzy Geese. I was looking for other color options. Well, when you scroll far enough you sometimes come across something you need. Or want. Or need and want!! Dizzy Geese cutting templates!!!! I read through a couple reviews and decided to splurge and get them. They should arrive in a week.

In the meantime, back to sewing more flying geese. I need 142 plus a gaggle of 176 geese for the border.

Ecclesiastes 3:7 A time to tear apart and a time to sew together;
A time to be silent and a time to speak.

Sew, I’ve got a million geese flying around my ironing board. Flying geese, wings, geese feet and star points. Maybe even a few beaks!! I think I’m going to have to find a better goose coop for them!!

I’ve even got a bunch of goose ears!!

The ‘H’ pattern piece (1) doesn’t seem to be quite the right size, (2) looks like about 1/4” off. I thought I might be trimming the square down. As I read through the directions again, the square up was 6 3/4”. My square is about 6 1/2”, off about 1/4”. Now I’m getting dizzy.

It’s still off some, but I think I can make it work. It’s reason #412 why I don’t really like making patterns from scrap books. The patterns haven’t been tested as much and don’t have all the quirks ironed out.


Sew far sew good. Left flying geese. The mock-up isn’t too bad.

Stay tuned.

Coronavirus updates.

Scroll through to find past sewing and quilting blogs.

COPYRIGHT © Jeanne Bugbee and The Lord Supplies, The Nose Bump Blog, 2017 to date.  Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this site’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited.  Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Jeanne Bugbee, The Lord Supplies and The Nose Bump Blog.  The Nose Bump blog with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Published by

TheNoseBump

This blog is designed to help others that may be going through the same 'nose bump' or basal cell carcinoma, that I am going through and provide inspiration along the way.

Leave a comment