Twenty-Three and a Half Plus One

There’s been a lot of measuring going on. Nineteen and a quarter minus one.

Sometimes the measurements include a plus or minus one. The one is an eighth of an inch, maybe a sixteenth depending on the measuring tape. In saw terms, a sixteenth is sawdust, it’s barely shaving off a thread.

Today when I arrived at the house, I noticed some new toys. Well, not new, just new to the house.

Do you see it?

It’s the ceiling in the pantry. The kids decided to leave the beams exposed and stained them. They used Mission Oak for the stain. I called it Cappuccino. It gives a nice boost to see the ceiling done in contrasting colors. It looks fantastic!!

R had asked me if I had any hand lotion in my bag of tricks. My car is a traveling office and has just just about anything you need.

On the menu today, Seven Course Dinner Minus Two and Peanut Butter No-Bakes. Seven Course dinner is a layered casserole with, yes, seven layers. Potatoes, onions, rice, green peppers, tomatoes, hamburger and bacon. I usually leave out the green peppers and today it was also baconless. Seven Course Dinner Minus Two.

Romans 10:17 So then faith comes by hearing, and hearing by the word of God.

Peanut Butter No-Bakes, can you believe I’ve never made them before? I think I made the chocolate ones years ago, but no-bake cookies haven’t really been in my recipe rotation.

Peanut Butter No-Bakes

  • 3 cups white sugar 
  • ¾ cup butter 
  • ¾ cup milk 
  • ½ teaspoon vanilla extract 
  • 1 ½ cups peanut butter 
  • 4 ½ cups quick-cooking oats

Directions

In a saucepan over medium heat, combine sugar, butter and milk. Bring to a rapid boil and boil for one full minute. Remove from heat and stir in the vanilla and peanut butter. Mix in the oats, stirring until the mixture begins to cool. Transfer to a large bowl if it does not fit into the pan well. Drop batter by teaspoonfuls onto waxed paper. Let cool until set. Makes about 48.

I cut the recipe in half which was a good thing because the cookies set up quickly. The last 4-5 were quite crumbly. I think if I make them again I’ll make them like bars and after they cool some, cut them like granola bars. The process reminded me of making Toothachers.

Mae helping Pae put together the second saw.

The boys went out sledding.

Building an ‘inside truss.’ That’s what I call it. It’s a wall. Mock up test to see if everything fits.

Adding the studs, the team lifting the triangler wall and securing it in place.

More measuring and mock up for the other half.

The other side going up.

Putting the snowmobiles away after a productive day at the house.

Admiring and taking a picture of the pantry ceiling.

COVID-19 updates.

Time to catch up on all the blog pages you missed.

COPYRIGHT © Jeanne Bugbee and The Lord Supplies, The Nose Bump Blog, 2017 to date.  Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this site’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited.  Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Jeanne Bugbee, The Lord Supplies and The Nose Bump Blog.  The Nose Bump blog with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Published by

TheNoseBump

This blog is designed to help others that may be going through the same 'nose bump' or basal cell carcinoma, that I am going through and provide inspiration along the way.

Leave a comment