Needle Pinnie

The other day as I was scrolling through FB, I came across a pin cushion for sewing machine needles that are still too good to throw away, not the one needed for the current project and keeps them organized. I tried to copy the picture, but it wouldn’t save so here’s the link.

It was $8.99 I think. I didn’t check the shipping cost, but it was probably $10-$12.00. Or, spend $50.00 and get free shipping. I liked it, but I’m a little too cheap to spend that much on one.

My used needle area isn’t very organized and includes a lot of dust. Yes, dust. Shocking!!

I thought quilting it would help stabilize the embroidery, so I used some scrap batting and muslin. I used one of my water soluble marking pens to make my grid. Then selected the triple stitch on my machine.


Exodus 35:35 He has filled them with skill to perform every work of an engraver and of a designer and of an embroiderer,

Next I used my alphabet feature to embroider some common types of needles and sizes onto the grid. One zero went over the line some, but I didn’t bother to take it out.

I’ll probably use a permanent marker to add a couple more categories if needed.

I thought the Pinnie needed some extra weight so I put a small section on the center of the bottom and filled it with lentils. Best use of lentils I’ve found yet!!

To finish the Pinnie, I added some batting and top stitched around the edges. Originally I was thinking about pinking the sides, but I liked the unraveled look where I tore the muslin.

A few scraps, time and creativity and I have an organizing pin cushion for little to nothing.

Coronavirus updates.

Like and share blogs with your friends.

COPYRIGHT © Jeanne Bugbee and The Lord Supplies, The Nose Bump Blog, 2017 to date.  Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this site’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited.  Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Jeanne Bugbee, The Lord Supplies and The Nose Bump Blog.  The Nose Bump blog with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Published by

TheNoseBump

This blog is designed to help others that may be going through the same 'nose bump' or basal cell carcinoma, that I am going through and provide inspiration along the way.

Leave a comment