Buffalo Chicken

So a couple days ago, I killed and skinned my Buffalo. Funny, it looks a lot like chicken. Who knew!?! I added a chopped onion, some salt and pepper and a couple cups of water, oh and the secret ingredient, and simmered 3-4 hours until the Buffalo was nice and tender.

This was another recipe that was roaming around on FB lately. I’m convinced FB knows what you are thinking before you do. I digress.

The recipe gave a couple options, I used the penne pasta rather than the cauliflower. I also used blue cheese dressing instead of ranch. The rest of the recipe I did about the same except for the pan, I put it into the crockpot sprayed with nonstick spray. I baked it for about 20-30 minutes and then put the crock into the pot for transporting.

My cooked Buffalo

Buffalo Chicken

  • 2 cups (8 ounces) uncooked, penne pasta (or substitute cooked cauliflower)
  • 1 (8 ounce) package cream cheese, softened
  • 3/4 cup ranch or blue cheese dressing
  • 1/3 cup hot sauce
  • 2 cups shredded, cooked chicken (rotisserie or canned) {or in my case, Buffalo}
  • 1 1/2 cups shredded mozzarella cheese
  • 1/2 cup shredded cheddar cheese
  • green onions, for garnish

Directions

  1. Preheat the oven to 375 degrees. Spray an 8-inch casserole dish with nonstick spray.
  2. Cook the pasta noodles, according to the package directions. Drain and drizzle with a little bit of olive oil to keep them from sticking.
  3. Stir together the cream cheese, ranch or blue cheese, and hot sauce until creamy.
  4. Add the chicken, 1/2 cup mozzarella cheese, and cooked pasta noodles to the cream cheese mixture and stir to combine. Spoon into the prepared dish.
  5. Combine the remaining two cheeses and sprinkle over the top of the pasta. Bake for 20 minutes, or until cheese on top is melted.
  6. Remove and serve immediately with green onions, hot sauce, and ranch drizzles. Serves 6.

Jeremiah 17:7 “But blessed is the one who trusts in the LORD, whose confidence is in him.

So I put the Buffalo Chicken in the car and headed to the log home. The weather says there’s another nor’easter coming, starting around 3:00. It was overcast and about 26°.

The kids had finished tongue and grooving around the pantry and installed a water box for the refrigerator ice maker.


Aust brought his kayak. He had made an anchor the day before using one of the empty gallon jugs we had for hot chocolate. He’d filled it with pond water and had it tied to the kayak with some string. Because of the impending nor’easter, the pond area was quite frozen, but Aust broke through some ice with the paddle.

Lunch time. Aust asked what lunch was and I told him, “Buffalo Chicken and Ding Dong Cake.” I added, “I skinned the Buffalo myself.” He didn’t seem overly impressed. It’s not everyday Auntie skins a Buffalo. He heated up another can of spaghetti.

After lunch it was back to work finishing the sheet rock around the chimney.

Finishing sheet rock on the sides and front.

Aust was playing some kind of game on his iPad. He said he was going to buy a helicopter for $75,000.00. I said, “you should go to Marden’s, you could probably get it for $35K’s.” He said, “no, I’ll get it here.” Then I asked him what features come with a $75,000.00 helicopter?, heated seats, GPS, an AM radio?”

I try to challenge him. I think he probably thinks I’m annoying him.

Pae helped Aust make a dryer for his gloves.

A sharp right drill and a sharp left drill. Where were these when I needed a 90° angle wrench recently?

Bringing in sheet rock to start on the kitchen wall.

Level, screws and stove outlet. Another productive day.

Ending the day like he began it, kayaking.

COVID-19 updates.

Missed a blog page? Find them here and share with your friends.

COPYRIGHT © Jeanne Bugbee and The Lord Supplies, The Nose Bump Blog, 2017 to date.  Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this site’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited.  Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Jeanne Bugbee, The Lord Supplies and The Nose Bump Blog.  The Nose Bump blog with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Published by

TheNoseBump

This blog is designed to help others that may be going through the same 'nose bump' or basal cell carcinoma, that I am going through and provide inspiration along the way.

Leave a comment